We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel for 1 night. The check-in was smooth and the front desk staff was very friendly. They had a coffee machine vending different varieties of coffees and had some great cookies as well ;)
The room was great, LCD TV, clean restrooms...overall very decent. You can request a free shuttle to the beach, but you'll have to wait for 30 minutes to an hour.
My favorite part was the breakfast. They did had a lot of variety and we just loved it. If we come back, we know where we are staying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DAARCH
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spent 4 nights here, was great. Room was very clean and bed AND pillows were very comfortable. Had a problem with the tub faucet, and they fixed it immediately. Front desk crew were very nice, and breakfast choices were plentiful. Nice pool area too! Very close to Siesta Key Village.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hubby and I really enjoyed this hotel. The room was excellent, very clean and the bed was very comfy. Hubby enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Another free breakfast and a great selection. The front desk worker was very nice and friendly. We took his suggestion and enjoyed a dinner at the restaurant on the same parking lot as the hotel. I did use the free and easy to use wifi. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I recently spent six days at the Best Western Siesta Key with my wife and two teen age girls. First I want to say that the beds rank very high in comfort and better than any chain I've roomed in. The rooms had all of the amenities we required including a microwave and refrigerator. Their WiFi was easy to connect to when provided the password. I would of liked a little larger room. They offered a shuttle service to the beach which our girls took full advantage of. This freed my wife and I to go on our own adventures. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate with selections of egg, sausage, french toast, cereals, breads, fresh fruits and more. Coffee was available 24/7 and also in the room. We had a nice flat screen HD TV although we expected more channels from a Direct TV connection. We had plenty of hot water for showers and the Hotel was full. The Staff was very friendly, the place was very clean and most everything was relatively new, The pool was a salt water pool but the salt level was mild and I could open my eyes underwater without any discomfort. Much better than chlorine pools. There was a sports bar (Harry's) next door which provided affordable American fare. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Refusmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel property. We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay and that you were able to use the free shuttle service, the pool and other amenities that we offer. We are especially thrilled to know that you would visit us again and do hope you will return to us when you are in Sarasota in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Rooms are very small and dark. Bedding, pillows and matteresses are old from when BW was Holiday Inn.
House keeping terrible. Did not remove our trash or clean, only brought clean towels and made bed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank 246DawnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. I must correct your assumption, however, regarding the pillows and mattresses in all guest rooms. The hotel underwent a $1.5mm renovation, completed in July, 2012. Mattresses and pillows were replaced. Additionally, the pillows that were in place were non-compliant for our new brand as a Best Western Plus, and all down pillows had to be purchased. If housekeeping was not to your expectations, I wish you would have advised us so we were able to rectify the problem while you were still here. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

great hotel but was not likeing the pool being closed at 10pm and they always had somewhat of the same breakfast. also we are a smoker and obviously u cant smoke in the room because they have these silent alarms to let them kno u have been smoking in the room so they will charge u 250 bucks. so of course i rather sit outside where its nice and peaceful anyways. well when we checked out and got back to indiana we found out that we were charged 250 for smoking. what i dont get and yes we smoke and all of our stuff is gonna smell like smoke, but if the silent smoke alarm DOESNT go off that obviously means we werent smoking in the room. i have been tryin for 3 days to get a hold of a manager and i feel like they dont care to return a call becasue they got their money the wrong way by stealing!! and the lady at the front desk names kristina was very very rude and had an attitude like she doesnt care that they can charge the card jus becauswe they smelled smoke not because we set the alarm off.. I just think this is very rude for this company to do this to someone who spent $1028.66 to stay there for a week. VERY RUDE AND UNHAPPY AND DISAPPOINT.. BEFORE THE WRONG CHARGE WE HAD A GOOD TIME JUS NOT CLOSE TO BEACH LIKE THEY SAY. :((

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristinaw803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. At check-in, every guest signs a waiver understanding that a non-smoking room is being assigned and a charge of $250 will be levied if the room is smoked in. Not an unreasonable request. We do have smoking rooms on the property and generally, they are available. Since you are a smoker, that probably would have been a better choice for you. Nevertheless, when a room has been smoked in, it requires at least 24-48 hours of clearing with special machinery and the room remains empty and un-rentable. Other guests who do not smoke, will not stay in a non-smoking room that has the odor still present. The removal of your clothes should have solved the problem. When there is an obvious smell of smoke in the room, and the room must be taken out of service, it is investigated by 2-3 staff members,including management, prior to the guest folio receiving the $250 charge. It is difficult to address your case since you do not indicate your stay information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
276 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231-4832 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $143 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing