We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flip Flop Cottages(Siesta Key)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,442)
Filter reviews
1,442 results
Traveler rating
577
554
209
53
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
554
209
53
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssiesta keyfree popcornpool barfree shuttle to the beachfire pitroom was cleanpool sidehot breakfastsiesta beachhot tubtamiami trailyogurtgreat place to staypublic beachminute driveconvenient locationeasy access
Filter
Updating list...
1,187 - 1,192 of 1,442 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I recently spent six days at the Best Western Siesta Key with my wife and two teen age girls. First I want to say that the beds rank very high in comfort and better than any chain I've roomed in. The rooms had all of the amenities we required including a microwave and refrigerator. Their WiFi was easy to connect to when provided the password. I would of liked a little larger room. They offered a shuttle service to the beach which our girls took full advantage of. This freed my wife and I to go on our own adventures. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate with selections of egg, sausage, french toast, cereals, breads, fresh fruits and more. Coffee was available 24/7 and also in the room. We had a nice flat screen HD TV although we expected more channels from a Direct TV connection. We had plenty of hot water for showers and the Hotel was full. The Staff was very friendly, the place was very clean and most everything was relatively new, The pool was a salt water pool but the salt level was mild and I could open my eyes underwater without any discomfort. Much better than chlorine pools. There was a sports bar (Harry's) next door which provided affordable American fare. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Refusmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel property. We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay and that you were able to use the free shuttle service, the pool and other amenities that we offer. We are especially thrilled to know that you would visit us again and do hope you will return to us when you are in Sarasota in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Rooms are very small and dark. Bedding, pillows and matteresses are old from when BW was Holiday Inn.
House keeping terrible. Did not remove our trash or clean, only brought clean towels and made bed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank 246DawnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. I must correct your assumption, however, regarding the pillows and mattresses in all guest rooms. The hotel underwent a $1.5mm renovation, completed in July, 2012. Mattresses and pillows were replaced. Additionally, the pillows that were in place were non-compliant for our new brand as a Best Western Plus, and all down pillows had to be purchased. If housekeeping was not to your expectations, I wish you would have advised us so we were able to rectify the problem while you were still here. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

great hotel but was not likeing the pool being closed at 10pm and they always had somewhat of the same breakfast. also we are a smoker and obviously u cant smoke in the room because they have these silent alarms to let them kno u have been smoking in the room so they will charge u 250 bucks. so of course i rather sit outside where its nice and peaceful anyways. well when we checked out and got back to indiana we found out that we were charged 250 for smoking. what i dont get and yes we smoke and all of our stuff is gonna smell like smoke, but if the silent smoke alarm DOESNT go off that obviously means we werent smoking in the room. i have been tryin for 3 days to get a hold of a manager and i feel like they dont care to return a call becasue they got their money the wrong way by stealing!! and the lady at the front desk names kristina was very very rude and had an attitude like she doesnt care that they can charge the card jus becauswe they smelled smoke not because we set the alarm off.. I just think this is very rude for this company to do this to someone who spent $1028.66 to stay there for a week. VERY RUDE AND UNHAPPY AND DISAPPOINT.. BEFORE THE WRONG CHARGE WE HAD A GOOD TIME JUS NOT CLOSE TO BEACH LIKE THEY SAY. :((

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristinaw803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. At check-in, every guest signs a waiver understanding that a non-smoking room is being assigned and a charge of $250 will be levied if the room is smoked in. Not an unreasonable request. We do have smoking rooms on the property and generally, they are available. Since you are a smoker, that probably would have been a better choice for you. Nevertheless, when a room has been smoked in, it requires at least 24-48 hours of clearing with special machinery and the room remains empty and un-rentable. Other guests who do not smoke, will not stay in a non-smoking room that has the odor still present. The removal of your clothes should have solved the problem. When there is an obvious smell of smoke in the room, and the room must be taken out of service, it is investigated by 2-3 staff members,including management, prior to the guest folio receiving the $250 charge. It is difficult to address your case since you do not indicate your stay information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'm not usually one to stay at a hotel, unless it's for a night or two at max (I'm a vacation rental person myself) but when I was invited to a wedding in Sarasota the couple had booked rooms for their guests at the local Best Western. When we arrived we were informed that our check-in was the next night (I'm pretty meticulous when it comes to my travel plans and had even called the night before to confirm) so I knew it was a mistake on their part. They acknowledged this immediately and offered the only room they had which was a smoking room. The girl at the front desk was apologetic and extremely helpful in attempting to find us another. The next day Mark (the amazing guy at the front desk) had everything completely taken care of. He and the whole staff were amazing. The rooms were clean and to be honest the smoking room wasn't so bad and the breakfast was constantly stocked and decent and the free movie popcorn in the lobby wasn't a bad touch either

Room Tip: Don't spend the extra money on the pool view, it's just a pool and a parking lot
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank transatlanticgirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the confusion regarding your booking and am glad we were able to accommodate your needs when you arrived. We would have liked to understand what you meant by "average", since we really do try hard to go above and beyond the average, limited service hotel from the extensive complimentary hot breakfast, to the fresh popcorn in the lobby to the 24 hr. cappuccino/coffee bar to the free shuttle to Siesta Key. We thank you for staying with us and hope you will consider us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Property well kept. Hot breakfast is great and fresh popcorn in the afternoon. Rooms well maintained, very large frig, nice TV and microwave. Ten minutes from the most beautiful beach in Fl. Pool area very quiet during day. Loads of restaurants on Tamiami Trail to choose from. All staff from check in clerk, woman who prepared breakfast and rest of staff pleasant and helpful. Added plus gym and laundry so you don't take all that sand home with you. Loved Sirius XM at the pool. Wifi signal great at pool and in room. Publix and Walgreens across the street everything you need.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank stoopswatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews