We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break at Best Western Siesta Key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spring Break at Best Western Siesta Key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I recently spent six days at the Best Western Siesta Key with my wife and two teen age girls. First I want to say that the beds rank very high in comfort and better than any chain I've roomed in. The rooms had all of the amenities we required including a microwave and refrigerator. Their WiFi was easy to connect to when provided the password. I would of liked a little larger room. They offered a shuttle service to the beach which our girls took full advantage of. This freed my wife and I to go on our own adventures. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate with selections of egg, sausage, french toast, cereals, breads, fresh fruits and more. Coffee was available 24/7 and also in the room. We had a nice flat screen HD TV although we expected more channels from a Direct TV connection. We had plenty of hot water for showers and the Hotel was full. The Staff was very friendly, the place was very clean and most everything was relatively new, The pool was a salt water pool but the salt level was mild and I could open my eyes underwater without any discomfort. Much better than chlorine pools. There was a sports bar (Harry's) next door which provided affordable American fare. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Refusmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel property. We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay and that you were able to use the free shuttle service, the pool and other amenities that we offer. We are especially thrilled to know that you would visit us again and do hope you will return to us when you are in Sarasota in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    401
    121
    35
    36
See reviews for
372
407
41
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Rooms are very small and dark. Bedding, pillows and matteresses are old from when BW was Holiday Inn.
House keeping terrible. Did not remove our trash or clean, only brought clean towels and made bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank 246DawnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. I must correct your assumption, however, regarding the pillows and mattresses in all guest rooms. The hotel underwent a $1.5mm renovation, completed in July, 2012. Mattresses and pillows were replaced. Additionally, the pillows that were in place were non-compliant for our new brand as a Best Western Plus, and all down pillows had to be purchased. If housekeeping was not to your expectations, I wish you would have advised us so we were able to rectify the problem while you were still here. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

great hotel but was not likeing the pool being closed at 10pm and they always had somewhat of the same breakfast. also we are a smoker and obviously u cant smoke in the room because they have these silent alarms to let them kno u have been smoking in the room so they will charge u 250 bucks. so of course i rather sit outside where its nice and peaceful anyways. well when we checked out and got back to indiana we found out that we were charged 250 for smoking. what i dont get and yes we smoke and all of our stuff is gonna smell like smoke, but if the silent smoke alarm DOESNT go off that obviously means we werent smoking in the room. i have been tryin for 3 days to get a hold of a manager and i feel like they dont care to return a call becasue they got their money the wrong way by stealing!! and the lady at the front desk names kristina was very very rude and had an attitude like she doesnt care that they can charge the card jus becauswe they smelled smoke not because we set the alarm off.. I just think this is very rude for this company to do this to someone who spent $1028.66 to stay there for a week. VERY RUDE AND UNHAPPY AND DISAPPOINT.. BEFORE THE WRONG CHARGE WE HAD A GOOD TIME JUS NOT CLOSE TO BEACH LIKE THEY SAY. :((

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristinaw803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. At check-in, every guest signs a waiver understanding that a non-smoking room is being assigned and a charge of $250 will be levied if the room is smoked in. Not an unreasonable request. We do have smoking rooms on the property and generally, they are available. Since you are a smoker, that probably would have been a better choice for you. Nevertheless, when a room has been smoked in, it requires at least 24-48 hours of clearing with special machinery and the room remains empty and un-rentable. Other guests who do not smoke, will not stay in a non-smoking room that has the odor still present. The removal of your clothes should have solved the problem. When there is an obvious smell of smoke in the room, and the room must be taken out of service, it is investigated by 2-3 staff members,including management, prior to the guest folio receiving the $250 charge. It is difficult to address your case since you do not indicate your stay information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'm not usually one to stay at a hotel, unless it's for a night or two at max (I'm a vacation rental person myself) but when I was invited to a wedding in Sarasota the couple had booked rooms for their guests at the local Best Western. When we arrived we were informed that our check-in was the next night (I'm pretty meticulous when it comes to my travel plans and had even called the night before to confirm) so I knew it was a mistake on their part. They acknowledged this immediately and offered the only room they had which was a smoking room. The girl at the front desk was apologetic and extremely helpful in attempting to find us another. The next day Mark (the amazing guy at the front desk) had everything completely taken care of. He and the whole staff were amazing. The rooms were clean and to be honest the smoking room wasn't so bad and the breakfast was constantly stocked and decent and the free movie popcorn in the lobby wasn't a bad touch either

Room Tip: Don't spend the extra money on the pool view, it's just a pool and a parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank transatlanticgirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the confusion regarding your booking and am glad we were able to accommodate your needs when you arrived. We would have liked to understand what you meant by "average", since we really do try hard to go above and beyond the average, limited service hotel from the extensive complimentary hot breakfast, to the fresh popcorn in the lobby to the 24 hr. cappuccino/coffee bar to the free shuttle to Siesta Key. We thank you for staying with us and hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Property well kept. Hot breakfast is great and fresh popcorn in the afternoon. Rooms well maintained, very large frig, nice TV and microwave. Ten minutes from the most beautiful beach in Fl. Pool area very quiet during day. Loads of restaurants on Tamiami Trail to choose from. All staff from check in clerk, woman who prepared breakfast and rest of staff pleasant and helpful. Added plus gym and laundry so you don't take all that sand home with you. Loved Sirius XM at the pool. Wifi signal great at pool and in room. Publix and Walgreens across the street everything you need.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stoopswatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

the staff is nice we got to check in at 10 am when check in is really 4pm the pool is heated they have a hot tub 24/7 popcorn and cappatino machine. for breakfast the meat,french toast,cereal,and milk the bathrooms were really small. Over all i would stay here again

Room Tip: there is nothing to keep the kids occupied at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauranicolegarcia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were there a few months ago, have been thre many times when it was the Holiday Inn Express. We chose the hotel because of the location, close to the Siesta Key beaches, shopping centers, entertainment, etc. Good return for the money, breakfast was very good, rooms very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#4 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,666 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231-4832 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing