We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern clean hotel near Siesta Key”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Ideal modern upscale Best Western. Across from large mall, near lots of chain restaurants, sports bar next door - and free shuttle to Siesta Key Beach and attractions. 4.5/5 stars. Lovely breakfast area and three free PCs in lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your positive review regarding our hotel property. We do strive to meet and exceed our guest's expectations and hope that we were able to do so during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the future if you are ever in the Sarasota/Siesta Key area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,122 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I hate giving a 4 circle rating of anything after only a 1 night experience but I am this time, because this Best Western completely met my expectations. I knocked my rating down a circle only because of the tiny 2 star bathroom size and the fact that there were no grab bars to assist with the dreaded step over the wall of the bathtub to get into and out of the shower.
The A Plusses come from their meeting my reservation request for a room with 2 double beds on a top floor, and from the excellent 1st impression upon entering the room with color coordinated tropical throws, decorative pillows, and behind the beds wall mounted print decorations.
Also because there were no smells upon entering the room. Also because there were firm enough mattresses on each double bed and there was an in room refrigerator and microwave.
There was 24 hour access to 3 desktop computers in a convenient, well lite, area of the lobby with comfy chairs and a printer, and this lobby also had fresh popcorn, coffee and even cappucinno, a large TV and sitting area, and large his and hers baths. This was a great convenience for me since I like to work late at night on the computer and could do this while munching on popcorn and sipping coffee and using the bathroom, without disturbing my mate.
Other plusses: breakfast with a meat option, swimming pool and hot tub, giant 42 inch TV in the room, room safe big enough to fit a laptop, free convenient parking, and convenience to Siesta Key and to all the stuff around Sarasota.
This place gets booked solid during Spring Break so expect that and don't wait until 9AM to go down for the "free" breakfast. Also take note that this place is not on Siesta Key. It is 1 plus miles from the bridge and a few more miles in bumper to bumper traffic down to the Public Beach and further south to the Village. Many tell of the free beach parking getting saturated by 10AM and all village parking gone by 11AM. Better to take advantage of free shuttles that you can arrange- ask at the desk- than to drive out to Siesta Key and expect to drive around leisurely. The meals prices on Siesta Key were high and the waits were long which was expected since Spring Break had begun. Ophelia's was the only restaurant listed by restaurant dot com and the $25.00 certificates were sold out by March 5th! Maybe next time!
In my review about Siesta Key I will include a few comments about the restaurants and other locations that we did patronize while vacationing in Sarasota.
Summary- I enjoyed Sarasota and Siesta Key and am planning to return. This Best Western offers reasonable rates online when Spring Break is not going on and I liked the convenience of its location and the great amenities... especially the lobby. Our room was $129.00 for 1 night because I booked early enough. I inquired about extending our stay 2 more nights and the rate had jumped to $179.00. Ouch! Happy traveling!

Room Tip: ask for top floor to avoid noise from above. Avoid ground floor unless you want poolside which will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank mauiman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We are thrilled to have met your expectations during your stay and I personally appreciate the time you put in to explaining alot of the detail regarding the property, its location and its amenities. As a fellow traveler as well as an owner and manager that reads not only my own reviews but many others, I appreciate understanding why you felt that you chose the correct property and why you would return to us again. I'm sure many others who read reviews appreciate your candor as well. Thank you and we do look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Due to last minute planning, got this hotel for $159, but it should be $79! Good stuff: pool is heated, has a hot tub, breakfast included is reasonable, 10-15 minute drive to beaches, room has small fridge and microwave, safe, iron, hair blower, complimentary popcorn in lobby....Bad stuff: room not very clean, bathroom even less so, they " provide pool towels" which are the size of a large kitchen dish towel, pool overlooks parking lot, hotel located on high traffic blvd., in room AC is very loud constantly even on low fan setting, no closet to speak of, and only 2 drawers in room with 2 double beds.; exercise room looks onto parking lot and has one treadmill, one stepper, one bike and weights. Whole thing is quite so so but the lack of cleanliness and grungy bathroom are reminiscent of a run down Super8 Motel, under the $100 range.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Helpful staff and a useful tip for the best restaurant (Ophelia’s) on the key
But although clean the AC is very noisy and on the ground floor you here every reveler walking past. Plus the memory foam beds are hot.

The small eating area for the free breakfast just cannot cope with a full load; it was standing room only and large lines to get your food and drink.

It was only one night but to be honest next time I would pay more for a better hotel

Room Tip: Dont go on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suffolk_sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms were very nice and clean and within a couple miles from Siesta Key beach. Stayed for 3 nights beds were confortable and breakfast was very good. Would absolutely stay again. Many restruants and places to eat right on Tamiami Trail. Right across the street great steak restruant and right around the corner the road to Siesta Key. We were initially worried because someone in the loby was complaining but we had no problems at all. Mother and daughter just wanted a quick trip from Michigan to get some sun!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a hotel close to Siesta Key Beach and much cheaper then staying right in Sies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights here and felt it was a fair value for the time of year (Spring Break). It is extremely easy to access Siesta Key from here. The room is crowded with a king bed but very comfortable and the shower (rain type with great water pressure was fabulous). We appreciated the hot breakfast and free wi-fi. If you arrive after 11pm be aware that all nearby restaurants and places to buy wine are closed, so stop on the way if you are coming from the airport. Our favorite aspect of our stay was the extra large hot tub where we met two other friendly couples who had tips for the area. I would have given it five stars but the dumpster emptying at the mall next did wake me up early Friday morning. I turned over and went right back to sleep and my husband slept right through it. We would definitely stay there again. Also-we were on the second floor but there is an elevator and several carts to take you luggage up all in one trip.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden and pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connor11_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rooms clean, well maintained with comfortable beds. Breakfast was very good although crowded some mornings. The beach is about 1 mile West of the hotel & easy to get to. Great shopping center right across the street. Reasonable priced for the area..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
242 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 51 in Sarasota
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231-4832 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $123 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing