We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth half of the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Morris, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth half of the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Due to last minute planning, got this hotel for $159, but it should be $79! Good stuff: pool is heated, has a hot tub, breakfast included is reasonable, 10-15 minute drive to beaches, room has small fridge and microwave, safe, iron, hair blower, complimentary popcorn in lobby....Bad stuff: room not very clean, bathroom even less so, they " provide pool towels" which are the size of a large kitchen dish towel, pool overlooks parking lot, hotel located on high traffic blvd., in room AC is very loud constantly even on low fan setting, no closet to speak of, and only 2 drawers in room with 2 double beds.; exercise room looks onto parking lot and has one treadmill, one stepper, one bike and weights. Whole thing is quite so so but the lack of cleanliness and grungy bathroom are reminiscent of a run down Super8 Motel, under the $100 range.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    448
    151
    39
    40
See reviews for
419
452
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lavenham suffolk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Helpful staff and a useful tip for the best restaurant (Ophelia’s) on the key
But although clean the AC is very noisy and on the ground floor you here every reveler walking past. Plus the memory foam beds are hot.

The small eating area for the free breakfast just cannot cope with a full load; it was standing room only and large lines to get your food and drink.

It was only one night but to be honest next time I would pay more for a better hotel

Room Tip: Dont go on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolk_sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms were very nice and clean and within a couple miles from Siesta Key beach. Stayed for 3 nights beds were confortable and breakfast was very good. Would absolutely stay again. Many restruants and places to eat right on Tamiami Trail. Right across the street great steak restruant and right around the corner the road to Siesta Key. We were initially worried because someone in the loby was complaining but we had no problems at all. Mother and daughter just wanted a quick trip from Michigan to get some sun!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a hotel close to Siesta Key Beach and much cheaper then staying right in Sies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
234 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights here and felt it was a fair value for the time of year (Spring Break). It is extremely easy to access Siesta Key from here. The room is crowded with a king bed but very comfortable and the shower (rain type with great water pressure was fabulous). We appreciated the hot breakfast and free wi-fi. If you arrive after 11pm be aware that all nearby restaurants and places to buy wine are closed, so stop on the way if you are coming from the airport. Our favorite aspect of our stay was the extra large hot tub where we met two other friendly couples who had tips for the area. I would have given it five stars but the dumpster emptying at the mall next did wake me up early Friday morning. I turned over and went right back to sleep and my husband slept right through it. We would definitely stay there again. Also-we were on the second floor but there is an elevator and several carts to take you luggage up all in one trip.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden and pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connor11_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington,NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rooms clean, well maintained with comfortable beds. Breakfast was very good although crowded some mornings. The beach is about 1 mile West of the hotel & easy to get to. Great shopping center right across the street. Reasonable priced for the area..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent staff, very clean rooms and facility, limited but good breakfast, a little pricey but you do get an excellent room. The mattress was very firm and was good for sleeping. My only complaint was I had a room next to an elevator which was noisy. I would certainly recommend this hotel and I would glady stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank THE4TENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.8 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231-4832 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing