We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lowest of low-end”
Review of Golden Host Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Host Resort
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The lowest of low-end”
Reviewed March 7, 2007

The room smelled like mildew and was in pretty bad shape - very run down. The location of the hotel makes it very difficult to go anywhere to eat unless you have a car. My taxi driver from the airport told me not to walk around there after dark and it became clear to me that he was right. I didn't feel safe. The breakfast in the morning was pretty sparse and lame - consisting mostly of dried out danishes and watered-down *awful* coffee. I know bargain hotels and have stayed in many - but those usually cost around $40 a night and you at least know you what you're getting. For the $90/night this place was, which though I guess is cheap for the area, you'd just expect more, not stained wallpaper and a scary bathroom where the water barely trickled out and the showerhead reached my mid-chest. Pathetic. The room was on street level and there was a lot talking and noise outside at night making it even harder to sleep. I was truly miserable staying there and have never been compelled to write any kind of review (much less such a negative one) until now.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank l3524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    25
    21
    60
See reviews for
45
43
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2006

This is a typical motel. The room was very clean and the facilities were ok. For the price you could probably get the same room cheaper a few yards down the road.The room didnt feel very heated as was stated and the room wasnt the going rate advertsied on the board outside. If you are passing throught this place is great but I wouldnt recommend it for a week or 2's holiday.
The breakfast was very basic, just toast, juice a couple of danish's and cereal. So dont expect afull cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JuliaT31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 13, 2006

I booked a three night stay for my wife and I. We checked in late, the room we were given smelled so bad of mildew, I had to ask for a different room. The second room didn't smell as bad. We decided to stay in this room although it was filthy and the two sinks would not drain. Of the two beds, one had hairs in the sheets, the other a bug running around. Of course we only stayed that one night because it was late and we needed sleep, but found a clean place to stay near I75 for the other 2 nights. Bottom line is that this Golden Host Resort is the pits, it an old motel on the poor side of Sarasota that has been re-painted by Best Western and called a Resort. My advice is to stay away from any hotel/motel on the north side of Sarasota near the airport.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 20, 2006

Check in was okay, but room was musty and badly needed cleaning and total redecoration.

Last occupants food still in fridge, old clothes on terrace, and wash kit still in bathroom.

Sheets almost worn through. Really the worst Best Western I've ever stayed in, and I'm in hotels 100 nights per year.. will be interested to see what BW say as I'm Gold Crown member!

Avoid this place, stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

The reviews entitled “Disgusting” (March 17, 2006) and “Horrible” (February 15, 2006) were accurate except they forgot to mention the cockroaches (excuse me, Palmetto Bugs) that have taken over the place.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank SirNewtonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota
#31 of 49 in Sarasota
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#29 of 49 in Sarasota
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#37 of 49 in Sarasota
246 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
3.1 mi away
Ramada Sarasota
Ramada Sarasota
#35 of 49 in Sarasota
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Host Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Host Resort

Property: Golden Host Resort
Address: 4675 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-3895
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Host Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Host Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Host Hotel Sarasota
Golden Host Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing