We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gumbo Limbo Vacation Rentals Inc.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently returned from our stay at Gumbo Limbo, and I simply can't say enough about it! After a whirlwind Disney vacation, it was a welcome retreat. The accommodations are so close to the beach, we found ourselves just going barefoot! It's literally less than 2 minutes, even with small children in tow!
There were 8 of us, 4 adults and 4 kids under 8, staying at the Royal Palm Suite, and we found it to have plenty of space for us. And talk about family friendly! Virginia has a wealth of supplies: highchairs, baby gates, pack 'n play, games, books...There are also ample beach supplies available for use ~ coming from Colorado, it was nice not to have to worry about packing beach toys for the kids. Virginia really does make sure your every comfort is attended to!
I have recommended Gumbo Limbo to all of my family and friends, and are already looking forward to a return visit! Thanks again, Virginia ~ we had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom_burgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 105 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our family stayed recently at Gumbo Limbo. We were pleased with the location and the accommodations. Will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank tebowfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Over Easter break 2012, 4 adults and 3 kids spent a wonderful vacation at Gumbo Limbo's 3 bedroom house. The main deck had outside seating for over 7 people and the view was the beautiful Siesta Key beach and the Gulf! The 2nd Floor Master Suite had also an amazing deck nestled for two, and the view again breathe taking but most of all the 3rd floor had another deck where the kids could see the pool and the beach, they thought they were princesses, which they are.. but man the 5 year old was in HEAVEN! Location to down town is not even .5 mile the kids could ride there bikes or walk and not feel exhausted. The barbecue was just steps away and very convient. The Ownership has amazing customer service! This unit was only lacking in knifes, tupperware, could use a few more bath towels and directions on how to use the tub, but besides that all was great. Kids and parents were both happy!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicalin1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom bungalow and absolutely loved it. The location is to die for, went swimming in the Gulf everyday. Took all of 3 minutes to be in the water, the bungalow was set up perfectly with everything working. The Pool and Barbecue were just steps from our front porch and the sun shone on the porch every afternoon. Wonderful tenants and the whole setup was perfect and the amenities are superb. This totally private little compound is just a minute from Siesta Key Beach, and a 10 minute walk to Siesta Key Village. We rode bikes everyday all over Siesta Key and found all the little Cul De Sacs fun to explore and hardly any traffic to deal with while riding. All in all this was a wonderful vacation and we would highly recommend Gumbo Limbo any of the units, and Virginia is a wonderful owner to deal with. She went out of her way to make our stay fantastic.

Room Tip: The Bungalow was an excellent value and we had our Lab and our cat with us.....................perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This was our second time back to gumbo limbo. The location is great, so convient to the beach and shopping. Lots of options from just 2 people or a large group. Clean. Great amenities. Owner is very nice and great to work with.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed here on Labor Day weekend with my husband and 3 other couples. We rented the Island and Key West Suites. I felt that the upstairs unit (Key West suite) was a little nicer. Both suites were fully furnished, including dishes and silverware. We brought some detergent so we could wash our beach towels and other laundry, as washer and dryer are provided in the suites. There are also beach chairs and bikes available for use.

We really enjoyed the lagoon style pool It is beautiful and relaxing on a sunny Florida day. There is a grill there, so we bought burgers at the nearest supermarket and had a BBQ for lunch one day. The beach is a couple minutes walk away. You can't get much closer.

As far as Siesta Key goes, I recommend having brunch at the broken egg. The food was good and not too pricey. I also recommend taking a trip into downtown Sarasota. We enjoyed a delicious dinner at a Greek restaurant on one night.

The suites overall were comfortable and clean. The rates are very reasonable. Our stay was enjoyable and I'd stay here again. I definitely recommend Gumbo Limbo.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GatorNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

What a nice stay we had at siesta key! Our little condo (hideaway suite) washes than a block from the beach. It was nicely furnished, and Virginia, the proprietor, provided just about everything we needed. Though we were there while some renovations on the building were being done, we could see how lovely it will be when the work is done. Is less than a mile walk to the village, where you will find wonderful restaurants. Though our unit was small, just right for a couple, there a beautiful larger ones for families and friends. and the best part, it was a pet friendly unit, though not all are!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi48128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
2.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
243 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,614 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumbo Limbo Vacation Rentals Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumbo Limbo Vacation Rentals Inc.

Address: 5610 Avenida Del Mare, Siesta Key, Sarasota, FL 34242-1917
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a stone's throw away from world famous Siesta Key Public Beach. Daily, weekly, monthly and annual rentals. Two beautiful high quality duplexes with award winning tropical landscape design. A sensational heated black bottom pool with rocky mountain quartzite deck, and a rock waterfall. The property sits across the street from the world famous Siesta Key Public Beach within 1/2 mile of Siesta Key Village with its charming shops, restaurants, ice cream stores, grocery, drug stores and banking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gumbo Limbo Vacation Rentals Inc. Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing