We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewood Grill & Tavern

Stonewood Grill & Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Stonewood Grill & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 981 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Looking for the best seafood and steaks in Florida? Experience polished casual dining at your local Stonewood Grill & Tavern restaurant, part of the Stonewood Holdings family of restaurants.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First time we visited in December, 2012 we would have rated the restaurant much higher. Our second visit in February was more disappointing. Average entree with somewhat soggy vegetables. We were not inspired to return given the price point.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    103
    39
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
269 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - Good menu and atmospher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are looking for a not-too-expense restaurant with a nice atmosphere and good service when you are in the Sarasota area Stonewood is a great choice. Have dined there dozens of times over the past five years. Menu has meat-fish-pasta dishes with great appetizers and yummy desserts (try the floridaorange cake).

Wine list has many bottle offerings as well as a wide selection of wines by the glass. Domestics as well as unique offerings from around the world.

Service is always consistent. Great place to hang out by the bar pre-dinner and enjoy a cocktail. Great food, great service and not too pretentious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We planned a thanskgiving dinner here so no one had to cook. Brilliant idea! Great food, fantasic service. We eat here as often as we can.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Infogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota FL
Level Contributor
397 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I sat at the bar and ordered a cosmo. It came 3/4 full. Ok, for $4 I can understand, but most others had a full glass. Then, I ordered the rib-eye. It was about 1/3 inch think. It was flavorful, but for $25 I do expect a bigger steak. Overall, it was a disappointing night. I do not expect to return soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanninelehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Siesta Key Stonewoods is the worst ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have been in stonewoods in ft meyers, sarasota, and tampa - the one on University is awesome on Sarasota - This place is a joke - I have been in here 3 times and every time I cannot understand how this place is a stonewood - Bartenders are useless - food is not good - parking is bad

I dont get it - but since I just rented on University - I can finally bid this place good bye and good riddins

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baddabingtmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Grill & Tavern also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stonewood Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing