We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food, great service, great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonewood Grill & Tavern

Stonewood Grill & Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Stonewood Grill & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 1,004 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Looking for the best seafood and steaks in Florida? Experience polished casual dining at your local Stonewood Grill & Tavern restaurant, part of the Stonewood Holdings family of restaurants.
Toronto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Party of six for dinner at Stonewood Grill. We have been in Sarasota for a month and eaten at a wide variety of restaurants including Duval's and Mediterraneo. The food at Stonewood was by far the best we have had yet. Salads were fresh and crisp, the calamari app was tender and delicious, the salmon was perfectly cooked.

Service was friendly and efficient, with a suitable pause between courses.

Stonewood is pricier than most chains, but the food is far better. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrtasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    112
    39
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We dined recently at the Stonewood Grill with friends. It was a great experience. One steak had been overcooked and the waiter and manager both made things right even when we were going to make do. They wouldn't hear of it. The pretzel breadsticks and the cranberry bread are REALLY good. This is the second time we've eaten there when we've come down for vacation. Top Notch service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshalljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Taste of Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife I took our family,went to Siesta Key Beach on Valentines to renew our 34 yrs of marraige with 300 other couples.After the event, we all wanted something different to eat, but it had to be a place we've never been to. So we googled sarasota restaurant,and the Stonewood grill came up. They had great reviews, so we said lets go for it. Wow, what a fantastic dinner experenice. Atmosphere was romantic, but energizing.Wait time about 15 min. being a busy nite. Drinks were sizeable, and served promptly. Our Waitress Keisey was outstanding, an employers dream. Not only did she know the menu, but we took all of her suggestions from start to finish. The food was cooked to perfection,and the presentation was mouth watering. We haelfd outstanding Oak grilled Salmon, Chicken Pot Pie in a Delicate Puff Pastrey, plus a beautiful Aisan Chicken Salad, thats a meal in its self. We eat out alot, and have had the good fortune to appreciate Quality. Last, but not least Dessert. Don't miss the Chocolate Bread Pudding, OMG, this is almost better than Sex.. I said almost !! This item was the Grande of the night. Folks, plain and simple.. Try this Restaurant, were coming back for our 35th wedding anniversary, this March. You will not be dissapointed with Anything you order. 5*

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Best Pot Roast In Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We recently visited Stonewood for my birthday since it's one of my favorite places. Considering it's a chain restaurant, it always exceeds my high expectations. I have only ever ordered the Pot Roast and it is the best I've ever had next to my mother's of course! I also love the Pretzel Bread that comes before dinner, it's pretty unique. The atmosphere is great, perfect for date night or catching up with family and friends. I highly recommend it to all of my out-of-town friends since Stonewood doesn't have as many locations as other chain-restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a six person group go to eat there for Dinner. We all ordered different meals and we were all happy with our choices. The service was excellent. This place has been off of our radar screen for a while but we decided to go after a few year absence. We were not disappointed and plan to go back soon.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Billp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Grill & Tavern also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stonewood Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing