We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Best Pot Roast In Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewood Grill & Tavern

Stonewood Grill & Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Stonewood Grill & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 981 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Looking for the best seafood and steaks in Florida? Experience polished casual dining at your local Stonewood Grill & Tavern restaurant, part of the Stonewood Holdings family of restaurants.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Best Pot Roast In Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We recently visited Stonewood for my birthday since it's one of my favorite places. Considering it's a chain restaurant, it always exceeds my high expectations. I have only ever ordered the Pot Roast and it is the best I've ever had next to my mother's of course! I also love the Pretzel Bread that comes before dinner, it's pretty unique. The atmosphere is great, perfect for date night or catching up with family and friends. I highly recommend it to all of my out-of-town friends since Stonewood doesn't have as many locations as other chain-restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    103
    39
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a six person group go to eat there for Dinner. We all ordered different meals and we were all happy with our choices. The service was excellent. This place has been off of our radar screen for a while but we decided to go after a few year absence. We were not disappointed and plan to go back soon.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Billp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Merits a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Well-located operation. Good food, decent service, a little loud.

I ordered, relished, and thoroughly enjoyed some well-prepared lamb chops. Others in the party seemed happy with their selections and meals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, waits approach an hour at peak times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As is the case with many of the better restaurants in Sarasota in the winter months waits for tables often approach an hour. We were able to make reservations and were seated at exactly the time of our reservation. Not sure if that's normal but we were pleased.That said however the food was quite good and the staff pretty friendly for all the bodies in the place. My rib-eye was flavorful and tender, son had mahi mahi which was good also.My wife had crab which she liked.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyLou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had dinner the other night at Stone wood very good burger made to perfection. I would like more of a drink selection but they still have some good beers to pick from. I like a good clean restaurant and it was. The service was ok. But again the food is very good here. I will return for the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Grill & Tavern also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stonewood Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing