We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Pleases!!”
Review of Roy's - Sarasota - CLOSED

Roy's - Sarasota
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: South Tamiami Trail
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always Pleases!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A wonderful Happy Hour for starters with delicious sushi appetizer and marvelous drinks!! Then off to the dining room for a wonderful dinner...the seafood trio! Roy's always delivers the best meals! A delightful evening was had by all!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    85
    47
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
gpetrie868
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hawaiin Fusion”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Never really knew what Hawaiin fusion was. Still not sure but this is one of my FAVORITE PLACES IN SARASOTA. Great spot to take out of town guests!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
3,321 reviews
1,905 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,141 helpful votes
“Chicago or Sarasota, it's all the same”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Roy's is one of our favorite restaurants in Chicago. We love the food and the service. No other restaurant caters to its customers like the staff at Roy's in Chicago. So we decided to go to Roy's in Sarasota. From the moment we entered the restaurant at Siesta Drive and Route 41, we thought we were back in Chicago. The Hawaii-based restaurant chain gets it right. They treat their customers like kings and queens and keep them happy by serving good food. Everything at Roy's is unique, from the five-item appetizer to the butterfish and Mahi Mahi (my wife's favorite) to the chocolate souffle. The presentation is excellent, too. And who came up with the idea of offering those delicious salty green beens? Roy's prides itself on making each visit a very special occasion. We have celebrated several birthdays and anniversaries at Roy's in Chicago. In two years, we probably will be celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary at Roy's in Sarasota.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Each time that I go into ROYS it is always been outstanding!!!!! For my recent Birthday the waiter took our Photo and placed it into an ROYS Frame!!!! So special. Thank you ROYS for another outstanding evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank faylady01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wedding party”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Having a meal at Roy's after a wedding. Used to love Roy's in Atlanta, so glad to find one in Sarasota. Meal was great as was the service, the only issue was the restaurant was very warm. I am normally freezing inside and I even found it to be hot. Melting Chocolate dessert is a must! Would return if visiting Sarasota again. No issue with separate checks and a large party.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlanta_GATravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Sarasota also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing