We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky studio apartments in the heart of downtown Sarasota”
Review of Hotel Ranola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ranola
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

First of all people need to realize that this is not a standard full service hotel. It is more like renting an apartment on airbnb. If you need full service the Hyatt is right down the street and twice the price. You get a comfortable bed with a sitting area and a small galley kitchen. Would be great for extended stays. The decor is funky - very modern. Kathy is a great host. It is walking distance to all the great little places in downtown Sarasota. I will stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 246 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a king suite for 3 nights in this small downtown specialty hotel. This place is run more like a pension or a bed-and-breakfast (minus the breakfast), but we really enjoyed it. It is in an old downtown apartment building with all the "character" you'd expect from an old building, such as hardwood floors and high ceilings, along with window air conditioners and no elevator.

Overall, we really liked the place and especially loved the close proximity to Main Street's restaurants and the Saturday Farmer's Market. Note that this is not a full service hotel, so if you are looking for a pool, fitness center, 24-hour front desk and breakfast, this is not the place for you. The owners, however, are very nice and were happy to give me check in instructions to accommodate our late arrival.

If you want to stay in downtown Sarasota, this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a very nice stay at this wonderful hotel. We felt warmly welcomed by both Kathy and Martha throughout our visit. We enjoying staying in the King Suite and all the amenities offered. It was comfortable, spacious and tastefully appointed. We enjoyed making our own breakfast or evening snack & having the windows open if we weren't interested in air conditioning! The hotel's location was terrific. We were in walking distance to just about everything we could imagine needing or wanting to do during our stay. The roof-top deck was an added bonus which we took full advantage of for sipping wine and watching the sunset! We look forward to our return visit this fall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunset114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

So unless you are desperate to stay downtown or in Sarasota for few weeks, I would stay away from this place. It's truly awful. Where do I start? VERY LIMITED service, no reception at night, stinky, old, dingy, paper thin walls??? They must have raided a nearby IKEA since all the furniture seems to come from there. Cheap look for an unjustified high price. There are little written signs everywhere in the room, don't do this and don't do that and we don't do this and you have to do that. OMG, I thought I was in a rehab camp or the owners are obsessive compulsive. Their booking system didn't register the fact that we had our two children with us and sure enough I got a frantic call from the owners, quizzing me as to how many people were in the room and got accused of not declaring them and she noticed the sofa bed was used and so we had to be more than two people in the room. Pure hell, I tell you. The folks upstairs from us fought all night and we could hear it all. No one to complain to in the middle of the night. And all we got for half a sleepless night was a 30mins extension of the mandatory 11am check out time. Whoopee f'n doo! Don't believe the good reviews, they are either fake or for folks who haven't traveled much.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms unless you want to get the feeling of staying at your great grandma
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank AndreBDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRanola, Owner at Hotel Ranola, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Our website clearly details the look and feel of the hotel. Guests making online reservations are surprised by it's charm. The hotel was built with (fort-like walls) in 1926 and refurbished in popular and classy art décor. Boutique hotels are unique and Hotel Ranola continually receives accolades on it's service and comfort.
The owners and staff appreciate your comments, however know that your situation is unique and unfortunate. Our sincere apologies. We may not always physically be on property but are available by phone 24/7.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

There is no normal hotel service in this place. No breakfast is served, reception is not staffed all the time and it is not cheap. On the other hand you get: very nice rooms, friendly staff, and, of course, an unbeatable location.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hotel Ranola is a boutique hotel (9 rooms available) in the heart of Sarasota. The location is about half a mile of the active part of Main Street. The owner is at the hotel every day so it is almost like a bed and breakfast(without the breakfast). The laundry room on premises was very handy for our extended trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AugustoRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We liked some parts of the Ranola but not everything. Our room/studio was a lot like an efficiency in a New York City older building. A separate sleeping/sitting area, a small but functional kitchen and a small bath - all decorated in an IKEA'ish design. Everything in the kitchen and bath show their age but were clean and functional. The air conditioning was acceptable but noisy and slow to do its work. It would, however, be quite easy to spend a small vacation here and not feel cramped. It is walking distance to downtown, restaurants, bars, and Whole Foods.

If all of this appeals to you, do it. We thought it was a bit pricey compared to say a Residence Inn or Hyatt Place with similar accommodations. But, it does feel like a home/condo which has some appeal.

Only one small complaint - the bath/toilet amenities were crappy. The soap was good for one shower and the other amenities were packed in hard plastic bottles that made their use difficult.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
947 reviews
5.4 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#13 of 51 in Sarasota
252 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 51 in Sarasota
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranola

Address: 118 Indian Pl, Sarasota, FL 34236-5800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $143 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranola 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only hotel in the heart of Downtown Sarasota, Florida. Walk to dozens of fabulous restaurants. Shops, galleries, etc. Full kitchens, sitting area, spacious rooms. Pillowtop mattresses, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi and more. Minutes to beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ranola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranola Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing