We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My funky apartment in Sarasota”
Review of Hotel Ranola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ranola
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Tucked away, just blocks from many restaurants, boutiques, etc is this little gem of a hotel. Our apartment was bigger than many city apartments-eat in kitchen, living room, bar area, king size bedroom, with sitting room next to the bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Parking on site. We were really happy with our choice. My only complaint, and this is my ONLY COMPLAINT. We were on the ground floor and the bedroom abutted a traveled street with truck traffic, so there was some noise. Our white noise machine somewhat helped. Not totally. Also, the window unit A/C's cycled, on/off, which kinda woke me. (Guess I don't sleep too soundly!) Really though, we loved this place and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NewYorkNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ranola
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 241 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Room 4 (Fit for a Queen) was beautifully furnished and the kitchen was basic but very appreciated, Full size fridge and coffee maker for AM. Bed comfortable. 5-15 min walk from most restaurants and Whole Foods. Vibe at front desk a little more straightlaced than decor in pics would suggest, but pleasant overall. Can't imagine I'll be back in Sarasota anytime soon but would likely choose Ranola again if I were.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just got back from a conference at Ritz Carlton where most of the attendees stayed on site. And guess what. I had what they had plus so much more.

I had huge room, comfy bed, luxurious shower, full kitchen, wifi, flat screen infused with 1930's art deco charm.

At the end of each day, others went back to their rooms but I got a chance to savor the walk through downtown Sarasota on my way to home. (with a stop at Whole Foods as a extra perk!)

Room Tip: Room 10 was home sweet home!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TiptreeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent one night here and we loved it. It's a great location, right in downtown. You can walk to lots of restaurants. With the Whole Foods nearby, you can pick up some tasty food to keep in your refridgerator. The bed is comfortable and the room is cozy with hard wood floors and modern decor. We definitely liked this place and may be checking in again on our next trip to Sarasota.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NotYourBroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This beautifully positioned apartment/condo hotel in the middle of town offers a old charm. The place is roomy and comfortable with eclectic modern features. The king bed is great and it is quiet to boot. The ower/manager kathy couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Would visit the town again and stay here.

Room Tip: You have to be aware there is no on site manager so arrival times are limited. The studio on the sec...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tarad32530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The weather in Philly this winter has been brutal but all that was forgotten when we checked in to the Hotel Ranola. Though our flight was delayed 3 hours and we arrived late, Kathy graciously waited around to greet us. She showed us into our "apartment" and we were delighted with all the amenities, especially the kitchen. Kathy really knows her city and all her recommendations were spot on. She is a lovely, caring person and when we decided to come back in March, this was the only place that we wanted to stay in because it felt like "home" to us. The location is perfect for walking to almost anything in Sarasota but it is really helpful to have parking included. We did not see any outside area where we could sit and absorb rays but that just forced us to start walking. And with screens on the windows, we could sit on our sofa and listen to the Monday and Thursday night music from the nearby restaurant while wearing pajamas!
See you in a few weeks Kathy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phillytraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was our first visit of the city and day before arriving we found this lovely hotel downtown Sarasota on TripAdvisor. Absolutely beautiful room to rent with kitchen and bathroom was spacious and comfortable. Definitely a place to stay! Kathy and Lou are great hosts, very friendly and helpful. We were also able to park our car just in front of the hotel for free.

I would definitely recommend staying at this charming Hotel Ranola in Sarasota!

Cheers,
Mankica

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mankica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 50 in Sarasota
933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#13 of 50 in Sarasota
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5.4 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
218 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranola

Address: 118 Indian Pl, Sarasota, FL 34236-5800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $113 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranola 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only hotel in the heart of Downtown Sarasota, Florida. Walk to dozens of fabulous restaurants. Shops, galleries, etc. Full kitchens, sitting area, spacious rooms. Pillowtop mattresses, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi and more. Minutes to beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ranola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranola Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing