We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delightful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

From its individually and delightfully styled bedrooms and modern bathrooms, to its friendly welcome and efficient service, Hotel Indigo is a great place to stay and ideally situated for visiting downtown Sarasota. Our only comment would be that the pool area is rather small and lacks shade.

However, the hotel is beautifully decorated throughout, immaculately clean and the breakfast is good with fresh eggs cooked to order. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, so taking everything into account, this hotel well deserves five stars and is good value for money in Sarasota.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear JJglobal,
Thank you for your review. We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our décor, ambience, and service. We are planning an update to our spa wading pool area in the future so we do appreciate feedback regarding possible improvements. We hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    236
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
145
351
45
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Notre Dame
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Everything about my 2-night stay here was perfect! The reception staff was not just helpful but also extremely caring and friendly. The room was extremely clean, welcoming, and well-decorated. The breakfast staff was so friendly. Management has really figured out the recipe for hiring the right people. You must try Solomon's cheesecakes too - fantastic! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cangst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Cangst,
Thank you for your perfect review! We can’t think of a better word to describe our talented team than “caring”. We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we promise to keep Chef Sol making cheesecakes every day until your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Visited this hotel for a two day trip! It was absolutely fantastic! The service was amazing and everyone that worked there was always ready to help! The two employees, Scott and Adam, at the bar area were so funny and just made my night even better! Would totally recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Alexis L,
We are so tickled to hear that your experience with us was such a memorable and entertaining time. We think that Adam and Scott are pretty fantastic too! Thank you for your recommendation and be sure to come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful few days. The hotel was clean and fresh. Staff couldn't have been any nicer with an added personal touch. Also enjoyed breakfast every morning in the restaurant. Can't wait to return next year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Kathy M,
Thank you for taking the time to send us such positive feedback regarding our friendly team members and delicious food, we only that you’ll be able to make it back to see us again before next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I visit Sarasota regularly for work and have stayed at many business-approved hotels. Hotel Indigo, while on the high end price wise, is a delicious splurge for business or pleasure. Spacious rooms, luxurious showers, purified water system; the list goes on and on. There only short coming is a tiny pool/sun area. Being only 5 minutes from Siesta Key, it's not a deal breaker. The surprise was the hotel restaurant. It was tiny but served fresh, quality meals at reasonable prices. Would I return? In a minute.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRTVrMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear DRTVrMoi,
Has it been a minute yet? We can’t wait to have you back! We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and especially our Chef’s seasonal, local fare. We agree that being minutes from the beach compensates for a smaller pool area and we love our spa-inspired wading pools for relaxing after a long day spent exploring (or in meetings). Check back regularly as rates in Sarasota fluctuate according to season and February and March are traditionally more expensive months for all the hotels in the area. Please feel free to contact our Sales Director, Janet Hansen, to set up a corporate rate if your company is sending you to Sarasota on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax Beach
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here at the end of a cross Florida bicycle ride for two nights. The hotel and rooms were very nice, the staff extremely friendly, and the food in the lobby restaurant was surprisingly good. We used up a lot of IHG Rewards points to stay here, and I was a little let down by the lack of a view in the room and the immediate surroundings, which were a little bleak. I was able to get up to Ed Smith Stadium to see my Orioles in action, and the walk was only a little over 2 miles after taking an overpriced cab to the stadium. Overall a positive experience.

Room Tip: Top floor is probably best. We were upgraded to an "Executive King" which seemed just lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Thsmith1,
First of all we would like to congratulate you on riding your bicycle across Florida – that sounds like an epic journey! We pride ourselves on our downtown location, minutes from the stadium, the airport, and the beaches and so we’ve replaced a scenic view with our picturesque local photography and stylish décor. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed the food and that our staff was able to make your stay a pleasant one. We hope to see you after your next bicycle trek!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Walking into the Indigo, you're greeted by *giant* white lacquer Adirondack chairs with colorful pillow that tell you this is a place to relax. The location is walking distance from a lot of Sarasota's arts and downtown scene. But it's Florida so the out-of-the-car-park-into-the-elevator escape route is possible too (with covered underground parking). Rooms are spacious, with surprisingly homey decor and fixtures -- not industrial-strength hotel items.

Room Tip: Choose a low-number room that might be farther from road noise (FL 41/Tamiami Trail) is alongside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvlexperts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie P, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Tvlexperts,
We’re glad that you correctly interpreted our oversized white lobby chairs as symbols of relaxation and we’re so happy that you enjoyed our location and ambience. We love to escape from our car into the elevator too – especially on that rare cold or rainy day that slips in between all the blue skies and sunshine. We hope that you’ll come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#4 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,567 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
7.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
5.9 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Property: Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing