We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average Boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff was friendly, but not exceptional in their service. Lobby was small ,and if at peak times (5-6pm) very congested .
Room was clean, but no frills here. One closet for clothes , somewhat large and creaky.
Room was requested to be cleaned , and six hours later still was not serviced.
Food quality was excellent both in the small lobby resturant and room service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

George, thank you for your honest comments about our hotel. I apologize that your experience was just average. We aim to inspire and delight each of our guests. It was never our intention for your room not to be cleaned on time. Our housekeepers work hard to get all rooms clean and ready within a reasonable time frame. We obviously missed the mark with your room. We do hope that you will come back again to allow our staff to change that average stay to an exceptional stay! Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Indigo Sarasota
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 933 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

From start to finish, we had a wonderful experience at the Sarasota Hotel Indigo. Although we arrived early and our room was not yet ready, the manager, Sandra, was conscientious and kind about keeping us updated and getting us into our room as quickly as possible.

Superior communication was one hallmark of the staff at this hotel. We also noticed that everyone was friendly and cheerful, happy in his or her work, attentive to detail and thoughtful of our needs at every turn.

For example, when I asked where the nearest playground was located, the young man at the front desk didn't just tell me, he helpfully printed out a map upon which he drew two routes to two different local playgrounds.

As we were preparing for departure, our younger son had an unfortunate slip-and-fall that necessitated a trip to the ER. Everyone was helpful, concerned, and acted quickly.

Erika, Sandra, and Cecelia (sp?) were particularly gracious. My older son still mentions Cecelia fondly and has reminded me a few times that we will hopefully see her again this Christmas.

Our room, a small suite, was extremely clean. The floors were spotless (but slippery). Everything worked beautifully: the power outlets, clocks, shower, AC, television, and so forth. Even at 5-star hotels, this isn't always the case.

Fantastic location: although we had a car, many restaurants and a thriving downtown area are within walking distance. Whole Foods is about half a mile away.

The two things that really set Hotel Indigo Sarasota apart from other hotels were the service and the cleanliness. My husband and I were impressed, delighted, and grateful.

Our family had only ever flown in and out of SRQ. A last-minute change of plans allowed us to enjoy a four-day vacation in Sarasota. We look forward to our next opportunity to visit Hotel Indigo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mightychunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Mightychunks, We are thrilled that you and your family had a amazing experience while staying at our hotel. We’re sad that you had to make a trip to the ER which can never be fun while vacationing. Communication is key when working in the service industry, and everyone genuinely seems to love his or her job here. We look forward to your return the hotel in December. Cecelia will be here to greet your son!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is my second trip to this hotel and this was better than the first. People may complain that the hotel is a little more expensive than others but you get what you pay for. Staff is always friendly and helpful, hotel is always very well maintained. Location is great where it is close to downtown without the headache. There is a restaurant on the main floor with a coffee shop which is perfect for business meetings or pleasure. The gym is modern and in working order, pool area is very nice. No complaints once again.

If you have some time to kill, there are a couple of antique shops not a couple minutes walk from the hotel. Also close to the beach and close enough to walk to the downtown area and movie theater.

Room Tip: We were in room 106 which is the wing just off of the restaurant and very convenient to the pool, gy...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmoonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Jmoonesq, thank you for your comments about our hotel. It’s great to hear about your second stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel this time as much as you did last time. We are always looking for ways to inspire and delight our guests. We hope that you will make Sarasota a regular vacation spot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed for more than 8 weeks and all I can say is that I highly recommend this hotel.
The service was amazing. The hotel is kept extremely clean and the room was fabulous. The management and staff were very courteous, helpful and professional. The location is great and easy to get to restaurants and shopping areas. Looking forward to spending more time in my future travels to Sarasota.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Luis S, Its moving when a guest uses the phrase “Best hotel experience in my life”. We truly want to make everyone feel welcomed, inspired and well taken care of while they are a guest with us. We look forward to having a wonderful guest like you back anytime. Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a beautiful, small hotel. It meets our baseline requirements of clean and quiet and tops it off with charming decor and attentive service in a wonderful location. We have nothing but positive memories of our stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notcotuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Notcotuit, thank you for your comments about our hotel. Your baseline requirements are our top priorities. We try hard to pay attention to the little details to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. We are glad that your memories were positive and we hope you can come back again and make many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was my first stay at a Hotel Indigo. I've stayed at Intercontinental and Holiday Inn in the past and had expected this brand to be somewhere in between the two -- upscale enough that I don't have to check for bed bugs (some older Holiday Inns can be sketchy IMO) and yet approachable. This property is right on the money.

I was in a regular king room which felt roomy by myself. The shower was probably the highlight of the room. I think a mini-fridge is the only thing missing. The bed was on the firm-side but comfortable enough. Really thick and soft towels which is a nice touch.

All the staff I've encountered, from front desk to restaurant to housekeeping, were EXTREMELY friendly. May I add that most of them were also very attractive but I digress.

When I made the reservation, the person on the phone said the property had an exec lounge which in fact does not exist. I was a bit disappointed and the fact that there were no recognition nor any on-property benefit as a platinum member beyond the stated benefits at the program-level. Not a deal breaker at the end of the day but would have made it 5-stars. :)

Room Tip: Stay away from room 215, 315 and 415. It is right behind the elevator shaft and not very pleasant.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdOverIp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review about our property EdOverlp. We are excited that you tried out the Indigo brand and especially our hotel! The spa-inspired shower is a bonus to the room, and to wrap up in a big soft thirsty towel afterwards is ideal for relaxation. Our apologies for the confusion regarding Priority Club benefits. Although we do not have a Priority Club lounge, we do have upgraded amenities and as a Platinum level member, you should have been upgraded to the executive level floor if it was available. I apologize if you were not offered the upgrade. We are hopeful that you will give the hotel another opportunity to serve you on your next Sarasota visit. We would love to show you true Priority Club Platinum treatment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Really loved this hotel - location, location, location. Lovely restaurant, bar, lounge area. Staff friendly. Rooms beautiful - unhotel-like- very comfortable. Would go back here next time is Sarasota.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedSoxRule44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

RedSoxRule44, we want to thank you for your nice comments about our hotel. The location is a leisurely walk to the Downtown area. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel so much and hope that you can come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,125 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
0.6 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#11 of 50 in Sarasota
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-2901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $160 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing