We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Sarasota - Twice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We hadn't stayed in an Indigo until our booking with Indigo Sarasota, but based on what we found whilst we stayed with them, we would not hesitate to recommend Indigo group and Sarasota specifically. The check in process was a breeze and parking was easy - just at the front or underneath the hotel in a parking garage.
We stayed twice within several days of each stay, both rooms we had were clean and neat with an interesting beach-style decor. The first stay we did not receive a 'welcome package' as we did with the second stay - not sure if that was supplied because we'd stayed before - it was only a drink, a couple of chocolates and a fruit and nut type bar but it did help stave off hunger whilst we unpacked.
Staff lovely -- our second stay included breakfast and I can recommend this or go to a nearby cafe 'The Toasted Mango' which is within walking distance.
You should be aware that all the bathrooms have showers rather than baths - a huge shower to be sure, but not a bath.
The hotel is easy to find, situated approx 2.5 miles drive from the beach, and it is worth asking the front desk for directions to get you over to the beach and all the lovely shops once you've unpacked. We liked Sarasota so much we decided that if we ever won the lottery, we'd like a house there. Beach lovely, shops fab, the Indigo is a lovely place to stay whilst stopping over on your way from one place or another - because it is not ON the beach it may be better for this sort of use rather than longer stays, but still, I think most people would be happy with this hotel for location, value and the courtesy of it's staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - one away from the lifts/elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you Merlin1968, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much you came right back! The welcome snack is provided on our executive floor and you may have booked two different room types, or we gave you a complimentary upgrade for returning. We're so glad you got to experience what sarasota has to offer; it is a small town with alot going on! The beach is a key selling point for most people looking to relocate to florida. We hope to see you again; if you are in the area you know where to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 948 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is our first time at this hotel and it deserves the reviews it is getting. Well located, rooms are roomy and very clean. Nice touches like the tray on the bed with a free drink and snack. The staff are very friendly and happy. It is very good value for money. It is within a few blocks of the Ritz yet at a fraction of the price. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi loveontario, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! The drink and snack is just a little extra gift for our guests on our executive level and were happy you enjoyed it. Whenever you are in town, we would love to have you back again. Thank you and we hope you have more great travel experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great customer service by entire staff, but especially Christian at the front desk. This is truly an amazing hotel that is surgically clean, decor is simple and sleek, and the staff sincerely cares about every guest being comfortable. They treat every guest as someone special. I always chose this hotel while visiting Sarasota. The location is also great.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the southwest side of hotel. Great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Vpurdy, thank you for your recent review, Christian is great at what he does and he will appreciate your mention of him. We try to pay attention to the little details here with our cleaning and guest service. We hope to inspire you every time you stay with us. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thank you to Hotel Indigo for a wonderful stay. The staff was extremely accommodating. The rooms were beautiful, and the hotel overall was gorgeous. We will definitely stay again. Erica is wonderful, and very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonRage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you AlisonRage. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We will make sure Erika knows what a wonderful job she did in providing great guest service to you while you were here. When you come back to Sarasota, you know where to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I all stayed at the Indigo while were in town for the memorial service of a close friend. The staff treated us so well, and they went out of their way to make sure that we were well taken care of. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and looked great. We are so grateful to the staff of the Indigo, especially Erica, for making our difficult time a little brighter. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Erin B, even though your stay here was not for leisure, we are glad that we could provide a place for you and your friends to enjoy time to remember a close friend. We pride ourselves on making each guest’s stay inspirational and memorable. We thank you for staying with us and hope you can come back again on different terms and enjoy beautiful Sarasota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Convenient to St Armand's, the beaches , and walking distance to the Van Wezel Center and all that downtown Sarasota has to offer, this hotel is a gem. We've stayed here many times over the past year as we are in the process of moving to Sarasota. From the General Manager down to the cleaning staff, everyone is very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Rooms are impeccably clean, and spacious. The new chef has added some delicious options to an already solid menu, as we've dined at the hotel when we're rushed or too tired to go out, and never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Jerry S, sounds like we have done our jobs here for you. It is refreshing to hear all the positive things mentioned on your review. We love the fact that you already mentioned our new Chef and his creations. Since you are moving here, please take advantage of our Live Music Happy Hour on Friday nights or come see a Sunday Jazz Jam Session in the H20 Bistro! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel was chosen for me as my company has a corporate rate with them, but I have never been happier with a choice made for me in my life!!

First off, the lobby is very unique and decorated beautifully, the staff, usually are wonderful and do the best to make you feel like you're at home, I will admit that I have stayed at this hotel over 50 nights between 2011 and 2012, so my familiarity with the staff might be more than most, but i have yet to see or hear anyone treated poorly in all my time there, the restaurant is great and a relatively good value, they are always making interesting soups and dishes of the day, one rule, always try the soup, it's cream of something different every time, but it's great, also recommend the flat-breads, and as smaller hotels go the beer/wine selection is decent.
The Gym is very small, but has everyone one would need.

Now, on to the rooms, cleanliness is never a problem! and you will never want to leave the beds, they are so amazingly comfortable, they don't scrimp on pillows or towels, the bathrooms, I've seen some complaints here about the noise from the AC Units, and I suppose that is related to how hard/heavy people sleep, because it's never been an issue for me, maybe it's just I'm so comfortable in the bed my ears just don't care!!

Always my first choice when coming to Sarasota, which I do a lot... when they are booked I actually get all sad as I move on to my 2nd choice hotel.

Great Job Guys!!

Room Tip: Obviously the general rule of 'far away from the elevator' applies here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hephree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hephree, thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We will post this in our back office so that the employees can see what you said about them!! We really enjoyed hearing about the soup and other restaurant favorites of yours. Just so you know, our new menu is coming out soon. You’ll have to give us some feedback on the new items you try. We look forward to having you back as always and thank you for being such a loyal guest to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,200 reviews
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
243 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.6 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#12 of 51 in Sarasota
254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-2901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $188 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing