We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for day trips in Sarasota”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent three nights here during our visit to Sarasota. We got there the first night just in time to eat the evening buffet dinner which closes at 7 PM. This place has a very nice area to gather socially and for the meals they offer which is breakfast every morning and dinner Monday through Thursday. There were a few issues but the management had employees on it immediately and everything was resolved. There appeared to many couples staying here for several weeks as a winter get away.
All rooms have a kitchenette which has a dishwasher, a refrigerator and a microwave. This kitchen area is quite roomy and moves easily into the living area. The bathroom has a large sink and granite counter top that is outside the shower/tub and toilet area. I prefer this arrangement.
This Homewood Suites has a lovely area for the heated pool and hot tub. The weather was cool and rainy but the pool was warm and comfy and big enough for lap swims. The hot tub was great. The dining area is large and very attractive with plenty of room for eating and later for playing games, cards and socializing. I'm sure if the weather had been nicer we would have taken our breakfast outside and eaten by the pool. The room we stayed in was a rather different layout and worked well. The closets were on the wall at the end of the bed and therefore we were able to use the sliding doors to get in and out of and not get in each other's way. The room was clean and all the lights worked. There were plenty of electrical outlets. The towels were soft and fluffy and in good condition. Plenty of shampoo, conditioner and lotion and bar soap. Enjoyed the USA Today every morning and we especially enjoyed the view of the pool area from our room.
Showers were always hot and plenty of water pressure. The kitchen area was very clean; they even provided a bag of microwave popcorn and bottled water the first night.
Evening meals were very good. The first night we had pulled pork sandwiches and sweet potato fries with a bountiful salad bar and the second night we had buffalo wings with carrots nd celery with ranch dressing and hot potato soup. Wine and beer was also offered every evening. All the food was very tasty and attractively presented. Breakfast was plentiful with make it yourself waffles, delicious scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon, pastries, bagels with cream cheese, toast and plenty of hot coffee and flavored creamers. Cold and hot cereal was out every morning.
This Homewood Suites is located in a quiet Amish part of Sarasota within easy driving distance of many places and the beach. There is some construction going on here and it takes a bit of extra care to locate the sign for this place while coming in the first night when it was dark.
Jacquie Blom did a wonderful job of taking care of us.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that overlooks the swimming pool and hot tub. It is in the courtyard whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 760 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Although they seem to already be under minimal construction (judging by the activity and equipment outside the hotel), they need to address the bathrooms inside, as well. Ours had a tub which did not work - the bathtub plug was stuck in the upright (open) position depriving customers of the pleasure of a bath. A second item was the lack of parking: we had to leave our vehicle by the main lobby due to lack of parking spaces - how unusual! On the same subject, they also need more than one entrance/exit: the main street in front of the hotel is a three lane, super busy, close to an intersection highway which makes it impossible to get out with all that traffic!
Although brunch was decent, they need more staff on hand: rude customers harassing other guests and verbally insulting women and not a single manager in sight. This is not a location we will return to, ever again. It would be nice if management solicited feedback from customers - we would share with them about the vocal couples they stuck in the suite adjacent to us. All in all, not the best experience.

Room Tip: Second floor is usually good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank competent_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we appreciate your detailed comments. The comfort and safety of our guests is of utmost importance to us and we're working with the appropriate department heads to reevaluate our processes and improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area. If you have any additional comments or concerns, do not hesitate to let us know.

Kind Regards,

Torri Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in early February. The room was great and had a nice small kitchette. It was also very quiet. I didn't hear anyone in the hallway or adjacent rooms the entire time I was there. The bed was very comfortable. The front desk staff was also very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuninthesunOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Homewood Suites during a brief visit for a wedding. Though it is nothing fancy not on the beach, it was practical and an economical choice, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. All in all, it was a pleasant stay. I am especially thrilled that a sweater I left behind was saved by the staff and mailed to me. I spoke to various employees about my lost sweater and they all were very helpful and professional.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank LenaMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

While the décor at this Homewood Suites is a little older and more traditional than many of their properties it is still a decent place to stay. The room was clean and well maintained. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The free breakfast was fine except for the cheap and environmentally unfriendly Styrofoam plates. Overall this is a fine place to stay in Sarasota.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dc2005b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

No basketball at hotel as stated in ad also had tiny ant problem. Overall good stay clean full kitchen breakfast and dinner Mon to Thurs. Few stores and fast food restaurants nearby have to drive to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Ontariotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your quick feedback. We've shared your feedback with our staff and are working on addressing the issues. We've also contacted our local pest control company to rectify the ant problem. Please feel free to contact us directly if you have additional comments and concerns and we do apologize for the inconvenience.

Kind Regards
Torri Jennings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were happy with our stay in most respects. The room was large and comfortable with a nice little kitchenette; we brought our breakfast back there and were able to toast our bagels which was quite nice. The staff was friendly and the breakfast room well stocked. The only drawback was parking - there are a limited number of spaces in the center and the rest of the parking is all on one side - not the side of our room, unfortunately. So we had a very long walk through the hallways late at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGreene16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
5 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 51 in Sarasota
718 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
951 reviews
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota Lakewood Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
5.7 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
260 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Address: 3470 Fruitville Rd, Sarasota, FL 34237-9024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $139 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Homewood Suites Sarasota
Hilton Sarasota
Homewood Sarasota
Sarasota Homewood Suites
Sarasota Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing