We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Sarasota”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel and will stay here every time I come to Sarasota! First, the hotel is clean throughout. I am very fussy and I expect a lot. The room price was a little high, but the cost included a huge breakfast, a light dinner ,free parking and internet, and a super clean heated pool.

My husband and I stayed in a queen bedroom suite. The suite was perfect. I could watch my own TV in the bedroom while he watched his TV in the living room. Everything we needed was supplied in the room, refrig, microwave, table, dishes, dishwasher, stove top, and pans. The rooms were spacious and CLEAN! The housekeeping service did a great job all week.

The breakfast and light meal were delicious. Several assistants replenish items and a dining host cleared and cleaned tables. The hotel is run very efficiently. There was always someone cleaning and refilling.

We had a small problem with our room window when we first checked. Within 3 minutes of telling the front desk, maintenance was there to fix it. The repair took a minute. The only problem we encountered were the dryers, it took several cycles to get our clothes dry (we tried all 4 dryers). We informed the front desk so I imagine the problem was corrected.

The icing on the cake were the two tickets the general manager, Ed Carroll, gave us to see the Orioles play!

I highly recommend staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: The queen bed 1 bedroom suites are roomy and contain everything you need with a complete kitchen. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasternIowaH2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your review and specific comments for future guests. I was glad that we were able to offer you the tickets to the game. The Orioles are a big part of every winter season for us and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 731 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are relocating to FL and need a place to stay for about 3 weeks We booked this hotel through the 800 number. Luckily I called the hotel to let them know we have a Cat. The manager then informed me that they don't take cats. Dogs only. Are you kidding me???? We were prepared to spend over $3000.00 for this stay. Forget it. I will never book Homewood Suites.

We had to cancel our reservation. I had to put Feb. 2013 in the "when did you travel section" to post my comment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank hedomonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. Although you did not stay at our hotel and only called in I would like to respond to your comments. Unfortunately we have had a very bad experience with a guest with a cat that caused us to change our policy. The expense that we incurred did not outweigh the benefit of allowing future guests with cats. You may think that one rotten apple spoils the bunch and this is how it may seem. The possibilty of this occuring again is too great and therefore we decided to move ahead on this change in policy. Thank you for understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

While visiting friends in the Gulf Coast area, we had occasion to stay at this hotel. While we have stayed at Homewood Suites in the past, this one stood out from all the others. From the warm greeting we received at the front desk (followed by a call to our room to assure that we were satisfied with our accommodations) to the time we checked out, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was clean, the bed super comfortable and the breakfast buffet, with its many offerings, was simply delicious. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends as a great place to stay while in the Sarasota area.

Room Tip: While we did not have the opportunity to sample the complimentary dinner buffet (served during the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winonaquaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel. We truly appreciate your specific comments and hop to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in January and was happy we chose this property. It was easy to get to from the highway and a short drive to the city of Sarasota and beaches. The heat in our original room did not work and staff transferred us to a little nicer room down the hall. Breakfast was good and the light dinner buffet during the week was good too. We did not use the pool but, it looked clean. Overall a very good Hilton property for the money.

Room Tip: No problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bestmom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your response and feedback. I am new to the area and I love the location as it is close to everything and I agree with you. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were driving from Colorado. We know that check in is 3pm. We arrived about 1pm to see if we could check in early. The woman at the checkout counter told us no rooms were available yet and proceeded to call us "needy" and come back in 2 hours. There are a lot of senior citizens that bring a lot of money to the Sarasota area in the winter which they should be thankful for, but our experence with Sarasota and the way seniors are treated was very offputting. The room was not up to our standards. It was very old and outdated. The dining chairs in our room were very rickety and a light bulb was out in the vanity area. The stair well is not very well maintained and needs a good vacuuming. The breakfast was terrible. Cheap food for old people. We ate breakfast elsewhere. I am surprised that the "Hilton" name was on this property.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

I want to thank you for your feedback on our hotel and specific comments by one of our staff members. I will certainly use this as a training tool for the future. We are on the threshold of a renovation in the third quarter of this year, we will renovate all of our sleeping rooms then move to the common areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first stay at Homewood and we were very happy with it. Very close the the fairgrounds (where we were working) and very quiet and comfortable. Loved the layout and the kitchenette. We try to use Hilton properties because we always have a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suntanfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We thank you for your feedback and your returning again to our hotel this year. we hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very accomodating staff...nice rooms and meeting rooms. We were there for a family wake and we had complete privacy and the staff worked with us so well to make sure we could have the event that we wanted. Thank you so much!!!!

Room Tip: Very nice rooms .... no noise problems..unless they were from us!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward C, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We thank you for your feedback and we were glad that we can be there for you during your time of need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
5.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 51 in Sarasota
709 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
945 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,170 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Address: 3470 Fruitville Rd, Sarasota, FL 34237-9024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $130 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Homewood Suites Sarasota
Hilton Sarasota
Homewood Sarasota
Sarasota Homewood Suites
Sarasota Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing