We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed three nights at end of our vacation in Florida and wish we could have been there longer. Great room with lots of room and good kitchen facilities, comfortable beds and new flatscreen tv.
Slightly odd layout which was confusing at first.
Loved the excellent free breakfast and pleasantly surprised by the complimentary food and drinks offered in the evening.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryRolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    156
    86
    38
    24
See reviews for
187
160
26
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We live an hour away from Sarasota but love spending the night. This Homewood Suites was very clean and well-cared for. They don't misrepresent themselves as a beach hotel, but it is located in the city and a short fifteen minute ride to the beach, but not to far from dining, movies, etc. The pool and hot tub were nice and the complimentary breakfast was FABULOUS! Great place for families... My only complaint was the parking - if you're out passed 9 pm, you're forced to park a bit far from your room, but we felt safe and would return.

Room Tip: Enjoy your complimentary breakfast by the pool. Be sure to visit Owen's Fish Camp for dinner (ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ally973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Just got back from here and I have to say that the homewood is pretty good. The service is good, the free breakfast was good and the nightly dinners (mon.-thurs.) were very good and changed nightly. The suite that I had was very nice with a seperate sitting area, full fridge, microwave, and a small stove. Overall good stay, you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: If you are alone or a couple the queen suite will be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jam315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine, coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

From Jan. 1 - March 20 we spent 42 nights at different Hilton Hotels. This hotel should not be part of the Hilton group.

Homewood has 100% Suite Assurance Guarantee. This hotel doesn't abide by it. We invoked it to no avail.
We have been waiting for the General Manager and Assistant General Manager to get back to us. No one has.

The staff themselves are wonderful.

A Few Concerns:

Two mornings no fresh fruit, yogurt or dry cereal.

Ran out of food at breakfast and manager's reception many times. The AGM went out and bought salad things, pizza and lasagna.

Pool heater not working properly.

Same sand on pool steps our whole stay.

Hot tub smelled -not chlorine

Some chairs at pool broken

Six nights in hotel and sheets never changed

Carpets in room never vacuumed

Air conditioner didn't always work- when it did very loud

Had to go to front desk twice and ask for toilet paper

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srqhw, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were not able to provide you with the breakfast and dinner meals you expected. We appreciate you pointing this out to us, and we will take your comments into consideration in planning meals in the future. We also apologize for the poor experience you had at our pool area, and have reported your concerns to our maintenance team. We will also address your concerns with our housekeepers to ensure a better experience in the future. On your next visit to the area, we hope you consider staying with us again so we can demonstrate the excellent service and hospitality we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

The staff was very friendly and caring.  The grounds were well kept. I had two adjoining rooms that held all seven of us nicely.  BUT my stay was not pleasant. My problems were: 
1. The scent of the room. I could not have the air condition in the bedroom running because my toddler would cough all night. I turned on the a/c in the living area so that we would be sufficiently cooled & we were. The odor of the bathroom and the bedroom was almost putrid. Febreze could not help. I had to put eucalyptus oil on a rag at our heads.  
2. The pull out sofas in both sitting areas were broken. The staff was however very good about replacing them.
3. My bed gave me aches and pains when I woke up, and I am only 36. The bed could be a little softer.
4. The bath need draino. Don't take a long shower, the water hardly drains out of the bath. It takes almost twenty minutes for the bath to be empty after a five minute shower.

I like the location, and the staff. I would never return though. The restroom in Columbia Restaurant had a more pleasant odor, than the rooms I had. That's sad!
Visit Siesta Public Beach & Columbia Restaurant. They are great!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaadcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srqhw, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you encountered with the couches and drains. We have reported your concerns to our maintenance team. We will be sure to address the issues with the room and hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is a nice hotel, clean and well appointed. However, it is poorly laid out with several different buildings and elevators that are not convenient. The entrances to the buildngs require your key and you end up using your key multiple times just trying to get to your room. Also, all of the parking is at one end of the complex so it took me several minutes to walk to get the car. The desk staff was excellent and his recommendation for local food was spot on. Although it is a nice hotel we probably would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor on end of complex with the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNT1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srqhw, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not happy with your room assignment. We strive to make sure all guests receive the room they are expecting. Please try our Suite Selection tool the next time you stay with Homewood Suites to reserve exactly the suite you want. I apologize that we were not able to provide parking closer to your room. I hope you will consider staying with us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My son and I spent 2 nights there, 7/20 Room 207 overlooking the pool area, wonderful
location. Overall an enjoyable stay; had a small incident regarding roomcleaning which was handled very professionally by Hotel Management. Parking is also no problem and there are shops around which is helpful. A walk-in clinic is closeby. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildhearts50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#4 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
Address: 3470 Fruitville Rd, Sarasota, FL 34237-9024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Homewood Suites Sarasota
Hilton Sarasota
Homewood Sarasota
Sarasota Homewood Suites
Sarasota Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing