We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent place, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Sarasota
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent place, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

PROS: The front desk people were friendly and nice. The place itself is quite decent. And it was quiet alright. Our room was very close to the main street, but we were not disturbed by any noise. Also the location is great, close to the Siesta Key Beach. The parking is free. The internet was free, fast and reliable.

CONS: The place is not excellent, however. When we arrived there, no one told us that breakfast is included or what time it is served. But if you ask, they will tell you those details. Under the bed, there was an empty beer bottle and an empty plastic water bottle.

Overall, I would go back if I get the chance to visit Siesta Key/Sarasota.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear RM, I would like to thank you for your sincere feedback as it helps us correct any deficiencies. I am sorry to hear that our Housekeeping staff fell short of expectations in regards to cleanliness, and promise that this issue will not go unheard. We will also make sure that our Front Desk staff makes each and every guest aware when checking in about our amenities, locations, and times. Your truthful feedback helps us, and hope that you will be joining us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    125
    61
    24
    22
See reviews for
149
141
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night and found that the reviews on TripAdvisor were accurate. It was clean and the room we stayed in had fresh paint and new furniture so you could tell there was an attempt made at updating this very old hotel. It is located on a VERY BUSY, VERY LOUD road, so prepare yourself for that. We did not partake in the free breakfast so no comment on that. We found the location and the room to be adequate for our purpose which was to have a cheap place to crash for one night after spending all day at the beach. For those of you that are not native Floridians and are coming to this area as tourists - I would not recommend this place for a week or even more than one or two nights. Pay the few extra bucks and stay on the beautiful beach in Siesta Key.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the street as possible because the traffic is VERY LOUD and it lasts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
TerriGator, I'm sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. It is our goal to ALWAYS be of service to our guests, and would have been more than happy to assist you with finding a room that would better suit your request as away from the road. Please feel free to always reach out to the Front Desk, as we are always here for YOU and will be more than happy to assist in any way possible. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

very clean and spacious. although the traffic is a little loud they put a couple of water falls to hide the noise which work out very well. The people were very nice and helpful, When my family does another road trip beach day in siesta we will stay here again. i actually booked another stay in July. I almost forgot the beds were so comfortable. like the full kitchen not having to go out to eat the whole time help save money as well.

Room Tip: i enjoyed the rooms on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennant08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear tennant08 for your recent stay with us. Every better, thanks for rebooking with us in July! As I'm sure you're aware, we do not provide that typical "cookie-cutter" hotel experience, and we like to be different. Providing clean, comfortable, and affordable accomodations is what we do best, and glad that you agree! You're down to 1 month before yur next visit with us, and as always, we're anxiously awaiting your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week and loved the hibiscus. We have many memories here and frequently reference the hibiscus in our conversations.
The rooms were not the advertised ones online. They were not renovated but we found them still nice and clean. The kitchen is big enough to make a meal which we did plenty of times. The front desk staff was amazing. I don't remember her name but she helped us with dinner options and problems with our room etc... She was professional and did a great job. The breakfast was actually really good. They have amazing muffins ,cereal, toast and waffles.
The pool was renovated and warm which was nice. We cooked a meal out there and had a good time.
We did not have a car so we had to walk everywhere. The beach is about a 15 minute walk but a very nice one! We really liked that because we could have conversations and get ready for the beach. Overall great time at the hibiscus!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jgatterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hibiscus. It is our goal to be able to provide a memorable experience for each and every guest. I thank you again for choosing to stay with us, come back anytime to see your friends at Hibiscus Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penna
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Location is fine. Front desk staff not friendly at check in, but no big deal.. Room was clean. Nice touches/upgrades, but it doesn't make up for the thin doors between rooms. Each room has the potential to join the next.. The trouble is the rowdy group next to us yelling until well into the night kept us awake. It was less soundproof than my walls at home. We gave it a try based on trip advisor reviews. It may be charming for younger folks, but traveling with a family (kids) this place wasn't for us - my 5 year old who loves to travel asked to stay somewhere else - he felt unsafe; probably the thin doors and walls. Would go with the chains next time (Best Western is nearby).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jen B, I am sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us at Hibiscus. It is our goal to provide, safe, clean, and comfortable accomodations for each and evewry guest. Please rest assured that your concerns will not go unheard, and each and every issue mentioned in your review will be addressed by the property management team. I hope that you will give us an opportunity to show that what you experienced was not the norm, but the exception. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I loved this place, just a short drive to the beach and walk to some stores nearby. The breakfast area was small, food choices lack some variety but the waffle was good. I really liked the smell of the towels, the bed was very comfortable and kitchen was a little small but really was great to have during our entire stay coz' we love to cook! Pool area was nice to eat out at night, though next to the street, it might get noisy at times. Pool was clean and well kept. Overall, I would love to stay again when I get back to visit siesta key.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyshine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks Sunnyshine76 for choosing Hibiscus Suites for your recent visit to Siesta Key! We are grateful that you chose to stay with us, and you truly enjoyed your stay. Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently stayed at Hibiscus Suites during our most recent trip to Siesta Key. The hotel is located about 1/2 mile to one of the most beautiful beaches in Florida. The continental breakfast in the morning with warm waffles was an added benefit. "Big Show" is willing to help ensure your waffle comes out perfect. The room was nice and clean. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. I agree the one downside was the pool located so close to the road, but since the weather was chilly during our stay, it was nice to have a heated pool to swim in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyM5910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Guest Relations Manager at Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank CourtneyM5910 for your great review! I am very grateful to have received your feedback for us to better the property for the next guest. Your kind words for The Big Show is appreciated, and I will be sure to pass on your kudos to her. Thanks again for stay ing with us at Hibiscus, come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
0.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#9 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key

Property: Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Address: 1735 Stickney Point Rd, Sarasota, FL 34231-8844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splurge on your next vacation in the tropical paradise that is Hibiscus Suites! Our hotel is located 1/2 mile from Siesta Key Beach, voted the #1 beach in the United States! All of our rooms are large Suites which include full kitchens, with separate living and sleeping quarters. We also host an outdoor heated pool open year-round, as well as a complimentary continental breakfast each morning of your stay and FREE WiFi access throughout the hotel. Book today, you will not be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing