We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai food in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok Restaurant

Bangkok Restaurant
Ranked #167 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Expect to wait if you want to eat here. The food is good and hot. If you order dishes medium spicy it has a kick to it. It will clean out your sinuses. If you don't like hot spicy food, just order it with no heat and they won't make it spicy. You can always add chili oil at the table. Extensive menu. If you don't know what to order, try the Pad Woo Sen or Pad Thai (unless you can't have peanuts) or a curry dish. The lettuce wraps have mint in them. The honey banana is good for dessert. You can get beer and wine, but no bar drinks. They don't deliver, but you can order take out. Booths available or regular seating. Prices keep going up. Buon and Mimi are from Thailand, so the food is authentic.

Helpful?
1 Thank Triple P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    53
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really great Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I've been going to the Bangkok for years. We order out from here all the time. However, the atmosphere inside the restaurant is very cool. I recommend any of the curry dishes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visit this place every year when we're in Florida. The decor is authentic and the service is always exceptional. Extensive menu with very reasonable prices. The meals are tasty, and the quantity served usually is enough for lunch or dinner the following day. We love this place and keep returning every year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dj1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“so authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

if you want to feel as if you've traveled across the globe for authentic cuisine, try bangkok.

great service, great food and decor is so authentic

yum!

if you're with the kids, get the chicken satay, they'll love it

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank assuntaswier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I were not impressed. We love Thai food and try different Thai restaurants frequently. I had the massaman curry (one of my favorite dishes and I like to compare them between restaurant) and it was lacking. It was very mild, had very little flavor and was made with peanuts. I prefer a richer sauce with cashews. We also tried a vegetable dish and their coconut custard dessert. Nothing was bad, it just wasnt great. There are MUCH better Thai restaurants in the area ( try Thai Wasabi on Clark Road). Service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bangkok Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing