We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make this a destination spot for Florida”
Review of Siesta Key Rum

Siesta Key Rum
Ranked #1 of 11 Food & Drink in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: At our Sarasota, Florida distillery our spirits are hand-crafted from start to finish in small batches using only the finest ingredients and hands-on distillation in a copper pot still. Our distillery is open for free tours and tastings. You must pre-register on our website or by phone to attend tours. Our gift shop/tasting room is open Tuesday through Saturday from 12 to 5.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
“Make this a destination spot for Florida”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Well it took a bit of groveling... but we managed to connect with our host, Troy Roberts, who accommodated our limited availability to visit. Troy was the perfect host and shared his passion for distilling, cars and travel. The recent awards that have been bestowed upon Siesta Key Rum... are justly earned and deserved. We had some great rums... and had an opportunity to try/taste a few future rums. Wow! My wife, Dad (father in law) and I had a fantastic time and hopefully we did not detain Troy too terribly long from his chores of the day... that is distilling more AWESOME rum.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eliot0195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    52
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great tour, amazing taste! Best. Rum. Ever.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Reading about Drum Circle Distillery in local paper, just had to see what it was all about. Did the Saturday tour. Upon pulling up, you can SMELL what's coming! This is great! Welcoming smiles, samples and explanations nicely done. Tour was very interesting. Of course, purchases were made at the site. Limit for on site sales, but it's available at local stores, a plus! Will be going back and bringing friends. Have already been spreading the word!

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank PLM777731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
255 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Add a little spice to your life”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Lovely tour and tasting shop. The Siesta Key spiced rum is hands down the best spiced rum I've ever had. It's so smooth my favorite way to drink it is on the rocks. I have yet to find another spiced rum smooth enough to enjoy simply over ice.

If you like your spirits, you owe it to yourself to try it.

We were there for the opening and there were some blends available for tasting that were not available for sale.

Visited December 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank SK_living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful Rum-Filled Caper”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was after a long work day on Friday the 13th and we met at the rum warehouse. Troy and Tom were gracious hosts, excited and knowledgeable about their products, and rightfully so. Sampled some great rums and rum drinks made from local, natural ingredients and were treated to the lighting of the rum barrel Christmas tree! Sparkling clean warehouse and gift shop and owners eager to educate and share their "wares" - great addition to local commerce!

Wes P

Visited December 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank wes34240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must visit if you love tropical drinks and things artisanal”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My first introduction to Siesta Key rum was when my wife found the tours advertised online. It's since become my favorite rum and I always have some on hand. The distillery tour takes you around the custom built machinery and through the entire production process from molasses coming in the door to bottling, labeling and boxing. The [world class award-winning] product is absolutely delicious. The owners will share recipes and always have one or two premixed example cocktails to sample (as well as neat rum by itself - make sure you taste it in its natural state).

Not shown in these pictures, they now have a tasting room with a small bar and souvenir shop (shot glasses, caps, T-shirts, stickers and the like). FL law permits you to buy up to two bottles per person per year direct from the distillery. If you do this, make sure you get them signed! They make great gifts, especially for people in far-off locations where SK isn't readily available off the shelf.

If you appreciate artisanal products, you must stop by one of the tours when you're in the Sarasota/Bradenton area. No excuses!

Visited December 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Lewin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siesta Key Rum also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Siesta Key Rum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing