We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian Cafe”

Matto Matto Italian Cafe And Wine Bar
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sarasota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Real Italian Cafe”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is very good. A little pricier than some in Sarasota particularly the wine, not over the top. Pretty authentic Italian.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank IAGormando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    8
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Needs Some Management Attention”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I've had lunch at Matto Matto twice and will go back again but I am always a little disappointed. I've eaten inside both times but the outside eating area looks pleasant if you don't mind the traffic zooming around you. The inside has a very European feel - a bit crowded, a bit noisy, a bit worn out. On our most recent visit, two of us had Panini which were quite good and authentic. The third in our party had a Caesar salad with added chicken. The chicken was so tough that it was inedible and was sent back to the kitchen. The second chicken was OK. The lettuce in the Caesar salad was bit tired. For the prices they charge, the food should be uniformly well prepared and it is not. Service was similarly spotty. The waiter was reasonably quick getting our orders taken but once we had our food, he disappeared and we had trouble getting our check. The remaining staff stood around and talked to each other rather than noticing that we were ready to go.

With a little effort, the management could turn this into a really nice place but it is run in such a casual manner that it does not rise above average.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilmingtonian58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprise!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Matto Matto looks like a pizza joint at the intersection of two avenues with tables outside for good weather days. We dined inside because it was a bit cool. The tables are crowded because the place is not large. Instead of pizza we ordered some pasta dishes that were superb-a genuine taste of Italy served by Italian speaking waiters! A good spot before or after a movie at Burns Court.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeterAL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Feels European”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We recently visited this cute little Italian place in the Burns Court area of Sarasota for a light dinner (Matto, Matto means Crazy, Crazy in Italian). The café atmosphere was modern "European" -- pretty small, tables inside close by each other, tables outside by a fountain with heat lamps (it was a chilly night), brick façade on a street "point" (2 streets coming running together and restaurant was located where the 2 streets joined together at the pointed intersection - very common in Europe). As for the food, there was a large wine menu, outstanding thin crust pizza, and authentic tiramisu. The food was fresh and very good, the wait staff was attentive enough, and the cost was a little pricier, but not out of line for Burns Court. I thought it was a very nice experience, the pizza was really good, and Manny from the kitchen was very friendly and encourages everyone to visit. Ne vale la pena!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cham62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I agree it is a bit pricey, but the pizza had very fresh ingredients and the wine was excellent. They seem to make all pizzas the same and then place the fresh ingredients unique to that pizza on top. For many the thin pizza crust may come a bit soggy and not crunchy. Overall we enjoyed the Italian ambiance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matto Matto Italian Cafe And Wine Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing