We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good burgers and shakes”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #589 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“good burgers and shakes”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We usually stop at a Steak n Shake when we're in Florida. There is an extensive choice of burgers and the shakes are wonderful. - the downside we find is the slow service - it seems to take a long time for our food to come out. Also, the one's we've been at need a really good cleaning. This is often the case with children friendly restaurants.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie48345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Burger Joint”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Burgers are great, malts are the best. Service is usually good, but if they get busy the floor may dirty. Great place for a quick burger with friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank williammT4810FH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Real good place for a burger and fries”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Really like the burgers and especially the very thin fries, but they can't seem to make a "thin" shake, no matter how hard I try to explain: "less ice cream, more milk!" There aren't many around, and when the shake comes (again) too thick, I ask for a half glass of milk, and usually get it without charge. The thin double-burger with fries for $4 is a real bargain, particularly if you go in mid-afternoon when they have a special on.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank countFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good and the Price is right!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I think, that the food here was very good, the shakes great and the price very affordable for someone on a budget. We will go again, as we have in the past, many times. The servers were very polite, as well, and that helps to enjoy your meal even more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beverly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing