We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Temporary Menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outback Steakhouse Tamiami

Outback Steakhouse Tamiami
Ranked #220 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Interesting Temporary Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The standard remains the same but now they seem to offer a menu with temporary combinations. We both opted for a seafood and steak combo. The steaks were medium rare as ordered; the shrimp and scallops, however, were highly seasoned such that both of us were drinking water all night. Restaurants really need to cut down on sodium. Our server was very nice and attentive. We happened to be there during happy hour and all cocktails were two for one which was a nice surprise. This is a busy place filled with couples, families, and groups of friends. A nice midweek break.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pensman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    61
    26
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mustard burgers, YUCK!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

After finding a BOGO coupon in my e-mail, I decided to try Outback for lunch. What a mistake, and what a disappointment! I don't know what prompted me to try their carry out, but after getting the food home, I realized they forgot to put mayo in our bag, or any other condiments except for salt and pepper. It was really disappointing after thinking about their thick, juicy burgers, to find they had lathered a layer of mustard and pickles all over the bottom layer of the hamburger roll. By the time we got it home it was soggy, and a mustardy drenched burger. Even peeling off the bottom layer of the roll didn't help. They put in a small loaf of dark bread with butter, which comes with all of the items on their menu, but made no sense with two hamburgers. No one would want more bread when you are already eating a hamburger with a large roll (more bread.) Added to the soggy mix was a portion of sweet potato fries. They should have been warm, crisp and delicious, but were soggy, mushy and cold. I actually felt like a burger from McDonald's would have been better than this mess. I called the store to complain, and the manager told me he would send me a coupon. He said they always put mustard on their cheeseburgers, but they use mayo for their bacon burgers. If the coupon is for another burger I will surely eat it IN the restaurant and not use their carry out service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sgteacher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Try Outback for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

"Our" Sarasota Outback is now open for lunch. We loved our meal after church on Sunday.
Everyone in our party of three enjoyed a different choice, and all were pleased with their selection. We were lucky to have our food delivered by a very personable young man named Bryan who I think will be the new manager. He was so nice, I hope to see him at "our" Outback again. Try anything on their vast menu, you will be pleased. At the next table a woman on a "no carb" diet was enjoying shrimp and sliced steak, it looked so good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, FL
Level Contributor
285 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Awful experience from the time we walked into the bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We haven't been a guest since last fall and it's gone downhill. No host to open the door, nor when we left. What happened to that wonderful smiling greeting and goodbye?
It was busy when we arrived with an expected 10 to 20 minute wait. Found seats at the bar and waited a long time for a bartender. No problem...they were busy. But she messed up on our drink order when we finally placed it.
We were shown to a nice table and met our server, Jaimie. Sweet girl, but with the mix-ups we aren't sure if they were her mistakes or the kitchens. Had to ask for silverware set-ups when break arrived since none on table and server didn't notice. Salads came and the Caesar without croutons. Dinner came, one steak and sides were fine but not steaming hot. One entree, green beans that were requested no seasoning, no butter arrived with butter. Scaped off to be replaced and onto cutting into the steak. Tough as could be and outside cold. Ordered rare, but should have been at least hot on the outside. Other steak so tough my husband couldn't cut it. Asked for the manager, who arrived promptly and took them to be re-ordered. Husband's steak arrived fine, but the other was so thin, grainy and obviously not rare. Fault on manager who delivered this inferior quality of meat. Management took steak off the check and offered all dessert, which we refused. By this time, just wanted to leave.
We had a $50.00 gift card and after such an awful dining experience, we gave our server a $17.00 gratuity. No on wanted to come back to use balance. Not sure she was worth it, but our loss is her win.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SRQtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great steaks. Good menu. Vegetarian choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Outback is a chain restaurant, so the food is consistently good at all Outback restaurants. Great steaks. Many menu choices. They are also known for their Bloomin' Onion, a fried onion with ranch dip. Full bar. Nice ambiance. Nice place to take a date. Vegetarians can get a la carte veggies. I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE their fish! I know, at a steak restaurant--who knew? Coconut shrimp. Pork chops. I think they open around 4 PM for dinner. I don't believe they are only open for dinner. In Sarasota there are at least two Outbacks, one on the south end of town, south of Gulf Gate Drive on the east (northbound) side of US 41, our main north/west street. There is another Outback in the strip mall on the parking lot of the southeast corner at University Pkwy and Lockwood Ridge Rd. Australian outback theme.

Helpful?
Thank Triple P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse Tamiami also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse Tamiami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing