We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great VALUE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lido Islander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lido Islander
Ranked #37 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
asheville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great VALUE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

After looking for hours for a decent, not too expensive hotel (even on Priceline), I nearly gave up until I discovered the Lido Islander. Room rates were extremely reasonable and the location was perfect! We booked a single room. Granted it was tight (barely room to walk around), it was just what we needed. Bathroom was clean. Bed was quite creaky. TV worked fine. There was a microwave and fridge, but in our room, these were situated in a closet of sorts along with an air conditioning vent system. There was no thermostat in our room and we were cold. However, the beach was only 3 minutes away. Would stay here again, but may spring for 1 bedroom suite next time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dukie_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    72
    43
    21
    39
See reviews for
57
110
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, IN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

The hotel is dated and a bit messy. We were upgraded from a very small room to a large studio with kitchen since it was available. The price was great, but upon entering the kitchen several small roaches ran for cover on the stove and near the sink. Realizing we are in Florida, we tried to overlook the bugs and didn't use the kitchen. The hotel is quiet and the location was so great that in spite of the bugs, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidoislander, Owner at Lido Islander, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you letting us know about your stay. We are always trying to upgrade our property and services we offer. As a result, we have terminated a couple of the companies that provided services to our property that our guest did not find acceptable. Thanks for letting us know about your stay, so we can continue to improve how we serve our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Me, my mom, and my 2 friends just went there in the past few days in Lido Islander. It s a great place to stay. It a good deal and price and the LOCATION!
It only 2 blocks from the beach and 3 blocks from St Armands Circle. It close to everything even downtown Sarasota and 20 minutes away from Seista key*the beach* and Longboat key too..
I will go back there again and stay there again for sure.
Thank you very much for your help while we were staying there in a few days. We had no problems while we stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

My husband and I spent this past weekend at the Lido Islander. We reserved a guest room for 3 nights, for about $165.00 total.

The room was a bit small compared to a standard hotel room, it felt more like a bedroom. It was very clean. The sheets were a little worn, but again, very clean. (They do not offer a daily maid service).

There was a fridge and microwave oven which was nice, plus a small table w/2 chairs. The closet had quite a few kitchen supplies - plates, glasses, silver, etc. The room decor was charming - cute furniture and floral stencils on the wall. Big ceiling fan.

The only issue we had was that the air conditioning control was in the suite next door, so we could not adjust it ourselves.

Speaking of the suite next door - it was empty and open so we were able to peek inside. The price difference between the guest room and suite was not that significant so we would definitely book a suite next time!!! The rooms do have wireless internet.

The location was AWESOME and one of the best things about this place. It's 2 blocks from the Lido Key beach and 2 blocks to St. Armand's circle which has tons of restaurants and shopping. There was a craft fair going on the weekend we were there. It's located in a very quiet residential neighborhood. There is no traffic and no noise.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleBrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

We have stayed here three times, and have got the one bedroom, two bedroom, and the guest room. Do not rent the guest room! It is a room with a bed, and two feet on each side of it. The other two rooms were fine. If you are a value travler you will love this place. It is dirt cheap and is walking distance to the circle and the beach. We come over from Orlando like once a year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

We booked a suite but spent the first night in what appeared to be a converted box room - the fridge and microwave were in the wardrobe and the king size bed made it very awkward to move about ! We were moved to a suite the following morning and that was quite a nice set of rooms. There was no office on site only a cupboard under the external stairs with a label 'Office' There was nobody on site when we arrived and we found a note for us in a box on the wall, which advised of our move the next morning.(Incidentley our name was spent incorrectly on this and the room keys were on the table in the room). It was nearly 11am before somebody turned up and after we asked we found out which suite we were going to. We finally moved in there at about 12pm. The suite consisted of a large lounge/diner , a fitted kitchen. a bedroom and a bathroom all these rooms showed the need for some maintenance/TLC ( the towel rail fell off the wall and the sink plug did not work in our first room !) The only contact if required with the owners/management was by telephone.
Dont book room 1A. Our suite was 1B cant comment on the other rooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisfromtheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidoislander, Owner at Lido Islander, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you for your review. The Lido Islander strives to be very competitive in pricing compared to other hotels in the area. We offer a variety of room types with varying price points in an effort to offer something for everyone. The room you booked is our most economical option. Although the room is not very large, many people do enjoy having an affordable place to stay in an exclusive island location. If you feel you need more room, then we always suggest people try one of our suites, that offer all the comforts of home including a fully stocked kitchen. Try it next time you will like it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

needs a lot of maintenance to make this good no curtains in the room only reed blinds (see thro) coffee maker filthy toilet not fixed to wall staff impossible to find all in all a bit of a dump in a very nice area a bit of work could make thi a very nice hotel

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidoislander, Owner at Lido Islander, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time let us know about your experience at the Lido Islander. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the hotel based on your review. I can assure you, we constantly updating the facilities and appliances to ensure complete guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.8 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
4.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
4.2 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#23 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Islander

Property: Lido Islander
Address: 528 S Polk Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2037
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Islander 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful studio apartments to 3 bedroom apartments tucked away on exciting Lido Key. The units are steps from the beautiful white sands of Lido beach, with the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico just beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lido Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Islander Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing