We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Homey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Islander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Islander to your Saves list
Lido Islander
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Sarasota
New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Homey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Worked very well for our family gathering. Had a homey appeal, we were all able to get the space we needed away from each other, but also had a great room to gather in and have meals together. It was clean, and within walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysTraveling765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Okay, let me say that normally, we would NOT stay in a place like this, but being that we were 3 adults with a passel of children and teens, this seemed the reasonable place to stay. the kids didn't care, so it worked out. It's definitely cheap, if that is what you want. It is close to the beach, which is nice, and it's a 5 minute walk to St. Armand's circle, which is also nice. That's the good. Now, the not so good. The room we had was 2-B, the one bedroom. It seemed nice enough when we walked in. Everything is old, but hey, it's not the Ritz! The bathroom was gross. Rust stain in tub, what looked like a blood stain on the curtain...didn't feel too clean...floors were in need of a good vacuum and scrub, too. The towels were small and not enough. The blinds are all broken and there's not enough light in the unit. The internet didn't work for us, either. The larger 3 bedroom downstairs seemed nicer...maybe because it is bigger? It also needed a good cleaning, though. If only they'd invest in nicer towels, fix the broken stuff, get some lights in the rooms, and stock the kitchens properly, it might be okay. Anyway, bottom line: something that my husband says "this place is what Europeans and Canadians would enjoy." It's NOT a hotel, so don't expect it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dt2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in a guest room about three years ago and had reservations about it, as previously reviewed. This time we stayed in a one bedroom suite and it made all the difference. Clean and prettily decorated, just a short walk from the beach and St. Armand's Circle, short drive to the nearest large supermarket. If you want on-site facilities such as a restaurant and pool, this may not be the place for you. However, if you want clean, quiet, good location, self-catering facilities then you will probably like this. We would stay again.

Room Tip: The suites (I.e. not guest room) are much roomier and have better self-catering facilities.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jollyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is not a hotel or a resort. It is a large building broken into various-sized units. Thus, it has no services like a hotel: no ice, no office, no fax, no bellman, no pool, no restaurant, no bar, etc. If this is what you want, great, but if it's not, then pay attention. It seems like a nice quiet place for a vacation, but as a business person, it did not provide what I needed.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidoislander, Owner at Lido Islander, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Although, the Lido Islander may not offer all the services of a larger hotel, we do provide a wide range of clean affordable rooms at a price well below the hotels in our area that do provide those services. Our rooms range from the small and affordable Guest Rooms to 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartment suites. Our suites are full furnished and have a full kitchen. The setup of our property is more self-serve than full serve, although we have staff on site and we are available 24 hours a day to serve your needs. Maybe you should come back for a vacation from work and spend some time relaxing at the beach which is only 1 block away. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just got back from our vacation and this is our 2nd time staying here. My husband and I love this place! We feel like we have our own little apartment. I can only comment on the 1 bedroom...its clean and very spacious. The location is key here...walking distance to the beach and the shops. We're not fancy people but the major thing I look for in reviews is...cleanliness...this place is spotless for a beach apartment. And the privacy is great...its for self sufficient people who aren't looking to get pampered and waited on...but should you need anything extra, there was always someone on the property willing to help. We love this place...can't wait to go back for the 3rd time...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjf3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great room at a great price. This place is about a 5 min. walk to lido key beach and less than 5 min walk to St. Armand's circle. Very clean and updated. Wasn't sure how it would go with many rooms right together and no office on site, but we had no problems with noise and check in was a breeze. Plenty of parking for our vehicle right in front of main building. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBJBIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.8 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 45 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 45 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Islander

Address: 528 South Polk Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Islander 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful studio apartments to 3 bedroom apartments tucked away on exciting Lido Key. The units are steps from the beautiful white sands of Lido beach, with the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Mexico just beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Lido Islander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Islander Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing