We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sarasota
Post
Inbox
Search

“Mussels are the specialty but everything is top notch.”

Antoine's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 1,254 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Antoine's Restaurant. Our new location features an elegant continental menu in a cozy and sophisticated environment. Our artisanal cuisine offers elaborate seafood specials including PEI mussels prepared 10 different ways and served with the best fries in Sarasota. We proudly prepare everything in house including bread, pasta, dressings, desserts,..And offer a wide selection of wine and beer. We hope you'll enjoy your visit to our restaurant and don't miss Monday Mussel Mania with All You Can Eat Mussels 5 different ways!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just got back from our first visit to Antoine's. All five of us were pleased with the excellent food and the attentive service. Angela's Favorite mussel recipe was my introduction to mussels and I am very pleased. It is a small dining room with a cozy atmosphere. Closed Wednesdays.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wiss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband "stumbled" upon this restaurant on Facebook last summer. Within a week he had made our reservation and we had dined at Antoine's. Six months later we brought friends to Antoine's. We were surprised that everyone at the table rated their menu choices as "Superb" (Soup, salads, entrees with vegetables, desserts and coffee). It has been our experience that most restaurants don't impress us on the second visit. Antoine's is "special". Antoine's chef is amazing!!
As stated in other reviews the Mussels and Short ribs are specialties and they really are wonderful. I'd like to add my entree to the list - the Baked Pork tenderloin with a creamy mustard sauce. The sauce is very light and the tenderloin is perfectly baked. I wasn't expecting it to be as delicious as it was. (My friends sampled and also loved it).
My understanding is a couple owns the restaurant - the husband oversees the dining area and the wife is the chef. If you found this restaurant in NYC and it would thrive. Antoine's is a gem in Sarasota, FL.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 3nj2fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely fabulous! We celebrated a special birthday and we all came away saying it felt like a special friend was cooking for us. Olivier was very gracious host and the food was delicious.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Bmac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Ok, we have been to Antoine's numersous times, and it just gets better and better.
We enjoyed New Year's Eve this year. Wonderful dinner. Split the goat cheese salad, entrees of scallops for her and musells for me. Split the profiterols for dessert. Excellent and reasonably priced wine by the glass along the way.

The owner and staff are too kind.

Find this place near the O's stadium in Sarasota, you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

I have been eating out in Sarasota for more than 40 years. The best meal ever was had last night at Antoine’s. Best in food, best in service, and best in personal attention by the owner, Antoine. (For reference, other top places in my book are Summerhouse, Napule, Euphemia Haye.)

The personal attention and entertainment of Antoine tops off a superlative experience.

The food is French Belgian and French, all cooked by Angela, Antoine’s wife and chef (and boss, he will happily tell you). We had a group of 6, ages from 12 to 71. Every one of us thought our food was outstanding. Here are a few of the top choices, not to be missed: Scallops (3 HUGE ones), Mussels (any kind), Halibut, Escargot (the largest, meatiest and best ever), Cauliflower Blue Cheese Soup, baguette (made there with Evian water!), rolls (made there), Profiteroles, Salty Caramel Ice Cream (made there), Belgian Molten Lava Cake.

Essentially everything is made there, with the most exacting care. For example, Antoine says that they tried 500 recipes for baguette to get just what they wanted, and the key ingredient turned out to be Evian water. The rolls that come with the mussels are branded with Antoine’s name.

The wine list is not pretentious and is not pretentiously priced. The choices represent good choices and good value.

Reservations are highly recommended. It is a tiny place with Anton serving, Angela cooking, a busboy (also elegant and highly personable) and an unseen kitchen helper / dishwasher. The ambiance is personal and pleasant, not pretentious or showy. (It is underwhelming from the outside, in a modest but quirky strip center, but warm and lively inside, all 8 tables or so!)

Antoine’s has my highest recommendation.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RobWPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antoine's Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Antoine's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing