We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of P. F. Chang's

P. F. Chang's
Ranked #313 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went to restaurant for birthday and found too many negatives. Have been to small Chinese restaurants that are less crowded, less noisy, better service and cleaner. We had to send 2 plates back that were dirty-servers should have seen this. Waited for everything. We will be going other places. Wasn't worth the $79.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank njeannefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    111
    68
    42
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have been to the PF Changs in Miami and this experience was not the same
After reading the mixed reviews here on TA, I decided to try PF Changs for lunch.
Service was very good from our waiter, Justin. he was very attentive.
We ordered the California Roll ($6.95) good but not great, Sesame Chicken Lunch ($9.95) (chicken was overcooked), Kung Pao Chicken lunch ($9.95) substituted fried rice for white/brown ($1 each extra)(not as good as other places in town) and 2 iced teas ($2.85 each). Soup was included in lunch portions..Hot and Sour was thick and salty.not great. It seemed the food was less seasoned than what we had eaten in Miami. Maybe PF Changs' management thinks the population in Sarasota can't handle spice and "heat".
Total bill was $36.97 Tax Incl. before tip.
There is another place in town I prefer for Chinese food (no glitzy decor) and there are leftovers..
Nuf said.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRQgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
256 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Terrible Service.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

On our way back home from the airport with no lunch today, we decided to give PF Changs in Sarasota a try for an early dinner. The place had opened recently to much fanfare in the local paper.

Our first impression was a cavernous dining room, lots of tables and not very romantic like we'd seen at a few other PF's in places like Palo Alto and Monterey in California. Still, we were seated promptly and enjoyed looking at the menu.

Then the wait began. With lots of servers on hand and managers running around talking into their microphones, we never saw a waiter at our table. No " would you like a glass of water or something to drink?" Or "May I take your order"? We saw three tables in our vicinity with patrons arriving after us get their drink orders taken, delivered and food ordered.

I asked for a manager to come to our table and told him of the situation. It was 5:25 and we were headed out the door.

We ended up going to another place in Sarasota and won't go back to PF Changs Sarasota at any point soon.

In 40 years, we've never seen service this terrible and in the 30+ reviews I've done for this website, my praise of staff is effusive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JTFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a let down”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I thought to give this chain a go, hoping it would be better quality than a drive through. What it offered in decor and first impressions upon entering grossly outweighed the quality of food. At the end of the day it's the food that will keep myself and others coming back and not a pretty picture on a wall or candle. Every item that was served (suspiciously quickly after ordering) was way over salted and lacking in any substantial flavours. We might have been full at the end but very dissatisfied and wishing we went elsewhere. Shame. I was looking forward to goin there more often with my family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Srqwrrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
170 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Ok food and service, but not clean”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The food selection was standard PFChang fare with adequate service. However, the table was dirty, the chairs had food on them and some plates had to be swapped out because of dried food on them. We had salt and pepper shrimp. They were fresh and properly cooked. The pot stickers were also as expected. The egg rolls were full of good ingredients, crispy and not greasy. Too bad the table, chairs and plates were not clean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P. F. Chang's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to P. F. Chang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing