We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good food.”

The Grasshopper Mexican Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #156 of 1,045 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Grasshopper Lounge opened it's doors in 1971 by owners Jesse and Cleo Rosales in Downtown Adrian, Michigan. There, my family acquired the other half of the structure and "El Chapulin the Tex Mex Restaurant" was launched. Still in business and operated by our entire family, we have since opened a second location in Wauseon, Ohio and our third in Sarasota, Florida. Grandma's secret: prepare everything in small batches, so we never jeopardize the art form of our food.
dayton
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good service, good food.”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited here for lunch. Salsa is green and u mix your own at the table depending on how hot/mild you like it. I asked for veggie fajitas. Comes with 4 flour shells, lettuce, sour cream, damn good guacamole, tomatos, onions, peppers, mushrooms. I asked for beans and rice on side. Had tons left over. My husband ordered a chicken meal that was wrapped in flour shell and deep fried. Beans and rice came with his. He has 2 bears and me a pop. Bill was $42. Not sure why they would charge so much for beans and rice on side when I'm not getting any meat. ($4.50) salsa was best I've had in forever. Service was great. I would eat there again. They have daily lunch specials.

Helpful?
1 Thank cinderella1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    61
    42
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

As many others have written, this restaurant is not fancy but clean with good service. My only disappointment were the sauces/salsas served with the chips. One was dark green and the other was some shade of brown ; I really didn't like them so eating the chips was kind of worthless. I prefer red-tomato type salsa.

I had the taco platter which had soft tacos, refried beans and rice. The tacos were nice but needed a little kick. I asked if they had any hot sauce or red type salsa. The answer was no and I sure wasn't going to put the other sauces on my tacos. The rice and refried beans were ok but nothing special.

If I ever went back (I had gone with friends) I would take my own jar of salsa.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarasota34232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Regular Dinner Stop On Our Siesta Key Vacations”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My family eats here at least once on each 7 day vacation to Siesta Key. Starts with good chips, salsa, queso and guacamole dip along with margaritas. Burritos, tacos, enchiladas and tamales are all good. The staff is always welcoming to a group of eight and very helpful with my young grandchildren.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I ate here twice for lunch on our recent trip to the Sarasota area. The restaurant is pleasantly open and inviting with a very friendly and attentive staff. The owner/chef came to our table and offered to bring us tastes of several dishes so we could make up our minds which we preferred. All were excellent, so the tastes did not really help. The flavors were intense and authentic Mexican. This is the best Mexican food we have had since we left San Diego 20 years ago, where they really know how to do it. I would return in a heartbeat if we lived in Florida. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank karylj2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable pice”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Four of us dined here on a rather quiet Sat. evening. We tried 4 different dinner plates & all were delicious. The dipping cheese sauce with green chilies was a nice touch & we liked the chips. The best part of the meal was the dessert - Bunelos. They served the 4 of us & we selected the honey, chocolate & whipped cream toppings. We would go back just to have them again. Our waitress gave excellent selection ideas & was most helpful. The margaritas were also delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank H Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grasshopper Mexican Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Grasshopper Mexican Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing