We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food.”

Chianti Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #114 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sarasota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food was very good. I have other Italian Restaurants I prefer for the same price point. Service was fine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IAGormando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    87
    20
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eggplant Parmesan”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Best eggplant Parmesan in Sarasota. Sauce is what you would hope for and did receive at Chianti's. Service was excellent. Bread was hot and crispy served with oil and vinegar, or if you prefer, butter. Recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grammy7229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We visit this place somewhat regularly and have found it to be friendly and have excellent food. If you are in a rush, go to another place, but if you want thoughtful service and delicious food, this should be on the list in Sarasota.

The light menu at the bar is good if you just want to share some delicious antipasti and the desserts are wonderful. In between that are a number of authentic Italian meals and good drinks or wine. The only dish we haven't liked is the carbonara, so all in all its a good pick for a nice casual evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota,Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A real gem close to home”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This new restaurant opened a mere five minutes from our home. It is beautiful inside. Seems no expense was spared to make it look good. There are several rooms for dining as well as a few outdoor tables. A dish of delicious lemon flavored olives and a basket of good bread was brought to us. On the table was a bottle of vinegar and one of extra virgin olive oil from the Venice Olive Oil co. Really good. The meal was excellent, ingredients fresh and well prepared as well as an attractive presentation. We were both very pleased. The customers did start to pour in and it was soon quite busy. The only down side was the noise level. Just a bit noisy. Service was average. This is definitely worthy of a return visit. Good food, fairly priced.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank photokap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a disappointment, our family who recommended was embarrassed”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Well, we went back to Siesta Key / Sarasota again this year (October) & met up once more with some of our elderly family that lives there year 'round. We offered to take them out for dinner & they wanted to go to / try Chianti. They live very near the restaurant, but had never been there. We went at about 6:00 on a Monday evening & it was busy, & I mean VERY BUSY. We assumed busy on a week night = outstanding food, good service. Long story short, we were charged $2.00 for our aunt & uncle to share an entree. They also wanted some chicken in the Fettuccine Alfredo they shared, we were charged $7.00 for that!!!!.....and there was scarcely any chicken to be found in the dish. Our uncle said the pasta was chewy, as in not completely cooked. Mine & my husband's dishes were acceptable and tasted fine. You might ask "Why didn't you say something to the server or owners?" My reply would be they were slammed busy (I honestly don't know why, especially after our experience) and our server was running around like a crazy guy trying to cover all his tables. He even told us they were short staffed (obviously), so he was doing the best he could. I think we finally got our bill and walked out about 7:45. Our relatives were just so embarrassed & they felt so bad that we paid so much.

I wish we had gone back to the cute Thai place we went to last year with our family, or just gone to OLIVE GARDEN!! This placed blew.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Atlanta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chianti Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chianti Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing