We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Italian Food!”
Review of Mangia Italiano The Usual Place - CLOSED

Mangia Italiano The Usual Place
Price range: $10 - $25
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian Food!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The food was exquisite! The ambiance was warm, service was outstanding! This is authentic Italian quisine (these are my 100% Italian husbands words), and we highly recommend it!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMarrianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    15
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
190 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“It's OK. Don't get why it gets super high scores”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The restaurant is in an ugly, rundown strip mall with no views and pretty basic ambiance. What makes it nice is the people who work there, yes, true italians with true italian charm. Service was very good and we ate well, a bit over sauced in general, but the food was good italian family cuisine. There were five in our party and all ended up happy. We got complementary birthday dessert for my friend and a round of a delicious chocolate liqueur to end a nice dinner.
If it weren't for the location, this is closer to a 31/2 point restaurant given this is Sarasota and competition is limited.
Oh, one more thing: an italian name would be way more inviting than a pub name.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“come mangiare a casa”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a great time in this restaurant. It was like eating a delicious meal at a friends house. Service was great and the food was spectacular! We will definitively dine here again!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danigee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Truly Italian!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had never eaten at this restaurant but had a restaurant.com coupon, so tried it last night. It seems to be a very neighborhood type of place - and authentic Italian. Our waiter, Marco, was a very nice person - we got there before the restaurant opened at 5, so we sat outside waiting - he actually brought us out 2 glasses of champagne to enjoy while we waited! Food was quite good, and wine unbelievable! We will definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian! True, but why such a high ranking?”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Good Italian food, no doubt, but this place has its flaws also. It is located in a drab strip shopping center with no ambiance, and I mean no ambiance. My party of four visited on a Tuesday night about 6 ish and were seated right away at a table looking out to the road and the parking lot, best they have. Beer and wine offered, then our waitress rattled off the specials in thick Italian, so fast, that no one could understand her. Shared an order of calamari with no special thai or other dipping sauce, just a small dish of melted butter with a hint of maybe rosemary? Small slices of bread on a paper napkin in a cheap basket appeared also. The veal Marsala was very good with grilled mushroom and other fresh sides. Good sauce, nice portions. White pizza with the tomatoes added (as asked for) all fresh and good in the open air bar side pizza oven. Delicious. Clams and a very good garlic sauce was also ordered, no angel hair pasta offered for a substitute, no salads, no frills. Clams were the smallest we had ever seen, the size of a "quarter" literally. No dessert, no coffee. Prices are reasonable. Nothing memorable stood out to any of us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangia Italiano The Usual Place also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing