We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Der Dutchman Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We ate here for lunch. Food was very good, the kids each got the salad bar and it was plentiful and fresh. I got the one piece broasted chicken with mashed potatoes and coleslaw. It was all excellent. The prices seemed just a little high, but did not stop us from enjoying our lunch. Our service was super friendly and did an excellent job. We bought some baked treats on the way out and they were very good as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    272
    103
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Came here for breakfast, most of my family decided to go for the buffet and my father in law for pancakes off the menu. The buffet was very good, there was everything i wanted and more. Everything delicious too. The pancakes where big and had a LOT of fruit. Service was very good and value as well. At the end bought apple fritters and let me tell you something....AMAZING

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernweh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Always love eating here. Tremendous lunch and dinner buffets. The turkey is very tender, BBQ pork and fried chicken quite tasty, all sides and salad bar are fantastic. Being Pennsylvania Dutch myself I have a great appreciation for this type of food, and this is top-notch! Someone recommended eating at a local competitor as well, but I found that food was very bland (& service slow.) Der Dutchman is clearly the best in the area for this kind of menu.

Helpful?
Thank BandKnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala,Florida, U.s.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Average Place To Eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I had heard so much about the Amish Restaurants in Sarasota that I just had to try one, thinking it would be similar to those in Pennsylvania. The buffet was not as sumptuous. The salad bar was pretty good, with many fresh choices- veggies, cheese, boiled eggs, pasta salad, olives. The hot part of the buffet did not impress me with the choices, but two choices did stand out. The broasted chicken (part pressure cooked, part fried) was delicious, as was the stuffing..Other than that, the mac and cheese was cheesy, but ordinary, as was the mashed potatoes. The veggies appeared to be from a can or frozen, not fresh. The cake at the end was okay, the soft serve ice cream was really good. I would not rush back, as there are so many restaurants in Sarasota. The gift shop upstairs was interesting, and the small deli in the front was overpriced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneOcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Modest at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This review is for the lunch buffet only.

Somehow I was expecting more-much more. The fried chicken was ok with my breast being overcooked on the edges. There is much better fried chicken available. The barbecued chicken would not sell in North Carolina, nor would the pork or Turkey. The mashed potatoes had the consistency of reconstituted dried potatoes. The gravy was very good as were the green beans.

The salad bar could only be rated as average.

The store above is very attractive. This alone would garner the place a better rating, but I went there to eat.

The bakery items look good, typical of an Amish bakery. I bought a strawberry rhubarb pie and a raspberry pie. Both are quite good but certainly not the best I have had in Pennsylvania or Ohio. But good.

The lunch buffet is simply not worth the price unless you are happy with a lot of mediocre food, which I am not.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank netbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Dutchman Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Der Dutchman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing