We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch...not so much; but....”

Der Dutchman Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dutch...not so much; but....”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

but really very nice inside. Spacious. "Historic" candy bars in their plentiful gift/food shop. Kind staff. Suggest going buffet. **$9.19 for buffet b4 4:00 or 4:30 (?). Pretty flowers & many, many rocking chairs outside! Great bakery!
Next we will try their locally famous b'fast buffet.
Brought home some scrapple to fix @ home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nhings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    284
    106
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not my kinda food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went as a group to this restaurant so the menu was already made for us. We started with a salad that consisted of 1 cucumber and shredded lettuce. Yawn. I have diet and sugar restrictions so the pies were of no use to me even though the looked good. Then we had the main course which consisted of roast beef (which was really fatty), Ham (too salty), and deep fried chicken (which I didn't try). The vegetable (one and only one) consisted of green beans. The bread on the table was served cold. If you go as a group be warned.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sweepmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent selection, good food!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time here and this time we brought friends - we were not disappointed! We were seated quickly even though it was Friday night and there were 7 of us. The food was excellent and we had plenty to eat for a reasonable price for a buffet. My only complaint was that there was no clam chowder or German chocolate cake as the placard out front said. Other than that, everything was wonderful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lrankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“It was more than I expected!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped by this restaurant on a Saturday afternoon. I was truly impressed once I was inside the restaurant/bakery/gift shop. We decided to try the buffet. Everything we had from the salad bar was very fresh. The selections they have available on the hot line buffet is plenty. I tried to sample everything they had available. There wasn't a thing that I didn't like...everything was delicious. Even the desserts were very good...be sure to get your ice cream. The buffet is reasonably priced. I really liked their bakery shop...great selections...loved the smell of their baked goods. There is a lot of unique items available in their gift shop upstairs/downstairs. We will definitely go back there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Countrygal063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordele, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I attended a function in one of the banquet rooms at Der Dutchman. The buffet had excellent quality food. The pot roast was some of the best I have ever had at a restaurant, and the Amish desserts were awesome. The buffet is kept very clean and the food fresh.The service in the banquet room was also very good and the servers would go out of their way to make sure you had or wanted everything you needed. The gift shop is also very extensive and you could be there quite a while just browsing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiaboy31015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Dutchman Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Der Dutchman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing