We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All day goodness”

Dutch Valley Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our Promise: "To give every customer top quality food with good and friendly service for very reasonable prices."
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“All day goodness”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great selection of "Diner" foods. Their breakfast is a can't miss. All food is fresh. I personally enjoyed the chicken fried steak. The gravy is to die for. Lot's to eat here. Generous portions. If you leave hungry shame on you!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutchvalleysrq, Public Relations Manager at Dutch Valley Restaurant, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your praises with us and the Trip Advisor world! We really appreciate you.
Hope to see you again soon.
The Dutch Valley staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    134
    40
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A diner in Sarasota!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Whether you are a snowbird, tourist, vacationer or local, the Dutch Heritage is a good 'ole standby for a tasty value meal. Located on Rt. 41, the Tamiami Trail near Stickney Point Road, you will find good value for your money at this restaurant. Like most greasy spoon diners, you won't get the atmosphere or the view, but just good home cooked food at moderate prices.

If you go breakfast they have all of the regular standbys and serve all day long. The service is good, and you can't go wrong with the food. Most of the patrons are from all over the country, as you will see by the vast array of license plates in their parking lot. There are good choices on the menu, and they give you a nice portion for your money. They now have bottles of hand sanitizer all over the restaurant due to all of the people coming from everywhere and sharing their germs!

If you go early for dinner, you will have to work your way in along with the "older" crowd in "season." It's is usually much quieter in the summer season. Don't expect a scenic view, wonderful younger crowd, or much else like that, just good food for your money.

We ate the "Broased Chicken" which looks like southern fried chicken....a combination of broiled and roasted chicken. It was moist and delicious, and only a tad salty for my taste. Full dinners come with soup, salad, entree, one side, and a choice of ice cream with chocolate syrup if desired, rice pudding with whipped cream and cinnamon, or jello. The people at the next table were enjoying lasagna, and turkey dinner, and it looked great! So if you are looking for a small diner for breakfast, lunch or dinner, you should give the Dutch Heritage a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgteacher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutchvalleysrq, Public Relations Manager at Dutch Valley Restaurant, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your expereince with us!
We hope to see you again soon.
The Dutch Valley staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good meals - home cooking style”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

By the name of the restaurant, you might think it was Amish...but it is closer to a Perkins & Denny's type restaurant. It has some Mexican, a little Greek and the rest is standard fare. They have a large breakfast menu, served all day. My wife and I went there on a Friday for dinner. She ordered the tillapia, which was smothered in onions and peppers. I ordered their fish and chips which so happen to be all you can eat. The meal started off with a salad. Just your standard head lettuce. No low fat dressings are offered, but they do serve the dressing on the side. The soup was served the same time as the salad. The manhattan chowder I ate was ok. My wife had the clam chowder, which was very thick. She liked it.The fish was not greasy, and was gently breaded. It tasted more like baked, not crispy. I would guess it was deep fried. The pieces were about 9" long and averaged a couple of inches wide. Three pieces were enough for me. Instead of fries, I asked for a baked potato instead. The included dessert was jello, pudding or ice cream. If you want bread, you have to ask for it. They will bring out rolls.
The service was good and friendly. It was good down home type cooking and a diner type atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
199 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great local breakfast spot!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Met some friends for breakfast, had great meal and service was great! Ask for Joanne, super friendly, great service and knows the area well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italian4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Venue”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place is a little tired decorwise but the food is great. Not somewhere I would go for dinner as it is very much designed as a large diner but for breakfast/brunch/lunch it's ideal. The menu is extensive with all the usual combinations but their Eggs Florentine & Eggs Benedict are a step up from the normal fare and are certainly worth having. I loved their Granola Parfait with fruit and yoghurt and English Muffin. The service was excellent, well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch Valley Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dutch Valley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing