We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait.”

Francesco's New York PIzzeria & Restaurant
Ranked #270 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sarasota's best Italian restaurant & Pizzeria. As soon as you walk in the aromas will bring you back to Sunday dinners at Nonna's house. Serving the best food for over 10 years. Voted Best Pizza and Best Speciality Pizza. Serving thin crust hand tossed NY style pizza. Excellent chicken, veal & seafood dishes. Extensive list of Salads and vegetarian options. Famous bruschetta appetizer like no other. Homemade sinful creamy tiramisu. Cozy, casual atmosphere.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We just arrived back in Sarasota for our 3 month winter vacation and the first place we went to was Francesco's,. We were there last year and couldn't wait to go back. They have a new look but the same owners. If you haven't tried it, what are you waiting for?
They make the best pizza in town. (we always take it to go). Dinners are all made from scratch to order so be patient. Have a glass of wine and some terrific homemade bread on the table and it's a party. The space is small and there is usually a line outside so try to get there early. Tell them Janet and Roy sent you!!!!!! Bon apetite!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cruisequeen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    54
    18
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go Somewhere Else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I've read the reviews before mine and rechecked the address to be certain we're talking about the same "Francesco's" here but yes, we are indeed. We first tried the restaurant a few years ago when they were door to their current location. We had a bad experience with service but decided to give it another try recently. We had dinner one night in December and the food was quite good and the waitress was fabulous! We were very happy so we went back a couple of weeks later. Fabulous waitress was nowhere in sight. Frantic waitress had taken her place. Food was good. We figured maybe they were short-handed that night so no big deal. We went again. And so the story begins. After we'd been seated for a few minutes, our waiter flew by yelling "Coupla minutes, folks!" He ran back by, took our drink order and promised to return. Except that he didn't. He kept disappearing at the other end of the restaurant and occasionally he would glance our way but wouldn't make eye contact. He finally brought us our drinks and then proceeded to take orders from others who had come in after us. We assumed they were drink orders. Wrong...(you know about the word "assume," right? Finally, he came back with our drinks and we ordered salads and pizza. Meanwhile, more and more people were filing in and, since there are only 11 tables, the place was mobbed with people standing around. It happened that we were sitting at a small table near the entrance so we were surrounded by waiting diners and we were eye level to their rear ends. It was not pretty so we moved to another two top and got out of the way. By then we had received and finished our salads and were waiting...and waiting...for the pizza. Food was being served to people who had been seated after us and food was being packaged and given to take out customers. Still, no food for us. Finally, after another table who had come in long after we had got their food, we'd had enough. I found the waiter and asked for the tab for the drinks and the salads. I told him we'd waited long enough. He said "but your pizza will be out in two minutes." I told him I no longer cared and wanted to leave. I stood there some more and waited. The waiter went and did whatever he did and came back and mumbled curse words. I said "Look, we've been here for an hour and a half. People who came in after us have already finished dinner." All the while he was shaking his head and saying "Yeah, it's all my fault. Yeah, I screwed up with you." Then he handed me a check for the drinks and the salad and stomped off. We paid the tab and left never to darken their door again. The end.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank NickelleSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Excellent Pizza and service! Please give them a try!!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveljava57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food great ambiance great staff great great great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Best italian food in Florida by far! This place is a gem and I highly recommend it to everyone. I live in Howard Beach NY and this place would be packed every night as it should be. What amazing and authentic fresh Italian food should taste like. I won't steer you to anything in particular because we have had almost every dish on the menu and haven't had a bad experience yet. So go now and tell them Jay and Erica from Howard Beach sent you. :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice little Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Cozy little Italian restaurant set in a strip mall, food is pretty good and the Pizza is exceptional

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Funforsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesco's New York PIzzeria & Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Francesco's New York PIzzeria & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing