We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING! My favorite restaurant!”

Joto Japanese Steak House
Ranked #270 of 1,045 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING! My favorite restaurant!”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Jotos is so good!!! I love the staff and service and I LOVE THE FOOD! It is to die for. I've only been to one other hibachi restaurant, but I think that Joto's beats them all.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tj2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great..........”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

fresh sushi and habachi very resonably priced came recommended by one of the staff members where we were staying

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, fresh sushi on Siesta Key”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Joto's Siesta Key is located in the mid center area of Siesta Key. It has a sushi bar, restaurant area for diners. It also has a separate area for those that prefer Teppanyaki style cooking. The fish is fresh, sushi is excellent. For those that love Tuna and like spicy, try the Volcano Roll. If you like a variety of fish in a sushi roll, try the Rainbow Roll. The salmon here is excellent. There is also an appetizer that is Sea Bass (cooked) which is really good too. If you prefer chicken and meat dishes they are available on the menu. Also a great selection of beer and saki. The staff is very friendly and professional.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelblurbSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hills, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Hibachi area gets hot! Dress in layers.”
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stopped in Sarasota and met friends at the Jo-To Japanese Steakhouse for a Hibachi dinner. The meal itself was good, but a bit salty. The hibachi area needs better ventilation because it gets overly hot if a few of the stations are running. For example, when I went out in the hallway adjacent to the hibachi area and it was a good 10 degrees (if not more) cooler.
Restrooms were decent. They looked clean, but appeared like they could use some updating.
If you go to this restaurant, dress appropriately—in layers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chezcalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Dinner at the grill”
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I really like this restaurant. When you leave there you aren't hungry. I love the salad dressing they use. It is worth going to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brendaw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joto Japanese Steak House also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Joto Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing