We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expectations Probably Too High”

Roessler's Restaurant
Ranked #92 of 1,030 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Expectations Probably Too High”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

After reading the many positive reviews on TA, we were really looking forward to our dinner here. Roessler's is truly a family owned restaurant in a garden setting, albeit with a peek of the busy Tamiami Trail through the hedge.
We dined very early, so crowds were not a problem. I can understand the main dining room's being noisy on a busy night. Unfortunately, the dominant flavor of most servings was saltiness, quite remarkable since I enjoy too much salt anyway. The veal picatta's dominant taste was of salt rather than the lemon flavor I expect. The baked onion soup was, of course, very salty. The cocktails and wine were excellent. The service seemed a little slow, although it was probably appropriate for a Continental restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank floridatraveler32055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    32
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food, but beware of Hawaiian Butterfish...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was delish but can cause abdominal discomfort. (Escolar is also known as butterfish (incorrectly), Hawaiian butterfish, walu/waloo, or super white tuna). I'll let the reader use discernment.
All the other dishes were amazing and the everything about the place is saying "Great" and therefore the 4 star review. Service was excellent and I will go back and get some of the other dishes that looked fantastic and were great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BLKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The restaurant is in a beautiful setting with lovely views from every table. You wouldn't expect to find a restaurant of this caliber in this area. The food was prepared and presented in a beautiful manner. My friend had the schnitzel and it was "the best she ever had". I had the hawaiian butterfish and the fish was moist with an almond sauce. The crab cakes were all crab. The sides that come with each dish were unusual and delicious. The service was excellent and we were not rushed. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion, date or just a treat!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A civilized hideaway in plain view.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Roessler's restaurant on Vamo just off S. Tamiami Trail at the southern end of Sarasota is a civilized gem hidden in plain view. Beautifully set tables that are far apart from each other fill several quiet and luxurious rooms. Classical music plays softly in the background. The menu has a variety of rich and traditional dishes - veal sweetbreads, crab cake, fantastic duck in cherry sauce, Weiner schnitzel Holstein, the best Key Lime pie in town. There is also a very nice bistro room with a lighter and less expensive menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IntlTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The very best resturant in Sarasots”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We have lived in the area for 14 years and have eaten in most every resturant around. This is the best. Its consistant,great food and proffesional service. Had the crab cakes wife the snapper both were the best! Have no problem recommending this resturant. Ron

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eronpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roessler's Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Roessler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing