We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dining Experience”

Roessler's Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Portland, Ct
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Dining Experience”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We decided to try Roessler's because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. This restaurant will not disappoint you in any way. From the warm greeting when we walked in, to the friendly "thank you" when we walked out the door, this was by far the best dining experience we had during our visit to Sarasota. The grounds around the restaurant are beautiful. We even took an eating break before dessert to walk around and get a bit of an appetite.
The onion soup was a great starter. I had Steak Diane, cooked to perfection with much attention to flavor detail. My husband had Veal Piccata. Have to say the same for this dish. The chef obviously has a keen flavor sense and each dish come to the table with care and attention.

Leave room for dessert and good luck deciding on which to pick. We had Crepes Suzette, made table-side perfectly.

Our waiter John was so helpful and completely knowledgeable
even about which wine to choose. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gotoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    34
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Favorite!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we come to Sarasota, our first stop is at Roesslers..for New Years Eve. I know of no other place in the area that can serve a meal with such distinction. Service is in line with New York City. Just the best. Food is great. I prefer the bouillabaise and duck, but all look good. Love the house salad, although I confess I ask them to remove the gorganzola, and do not miss the desserts.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamajo345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Class Act!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice warm & friendly atmosphere coupled with terrific classic dishes makes this restaurant well worth the visit. Impeccable service. Great starters include the escargot, crab cake and lobster bisque. Caesar salad delicious. Great entrees include cowboy steak, duck, filet mignon...no room for dessert! Next time! Oh, and I want more of those onion rings with cowboy steak...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Hideway”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Get the Dover Sole, plated table side - best I've ever had. This is, to my mind, the perfect place for a special occasion, and would be quite the place for a second or third date. Decor is very traditional, as is the service, which means your waiter is not going to pull up an chair and sit in it while he takes your order!

Helpful?
Thank TrukFLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Popular with Seniors”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Quietly sedate. Very popular with repeat senior customers. Family operated for many years once located at the local airport as Roesslers Flight Deck. Excellent kitchen with a mostly fixed menu. Bistro area offers dining apart from the main dinning room. Small bar to mostly serve diners. Service exceptional by long time employees. Surrounding grounds and landscaping very attractive, lending ambiance for weddings etc. Interior recently renovated. A most pleasant dining experience by any standard. Roesslers is worthy of seeking out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roessler's Restaurant also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Roessler's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing