We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local place if you want seafood”
Review of Madfish Grill

Madfish Grill
Ranked #129 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Long-time Sarasota favorite featuring an island-inspired menu and casual atmosphere. Serving everything from seafood to steaks, this local restaurant has earned a reputation for quality food & service.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good local place if you want seafood”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I am a visitor here. We stopped for lunch because of the catchy name. Ate there twice. Both times the service was good, and the food good. My friend loved the Cajun fish tacos. I had a fish sandwich with great battered cod on a huge roll. It was more than I could eat but very good. Good side of coleslaw with it. When you are too full to finish a $10 meal, you know it is good value.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travelhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadfishGrill, Manager at Madfish Grill, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! Hope you have the chance to come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    73
    33
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“There are better around”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Started off with poor reception like a customer walking in was a nuisance. Server was totally disinterested in her customer. Quality of food was acceptable but very small portion. Overall disapointing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SrqMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadfishGrill, Manager at Madfish Grill, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Sorry to hear about your less than positive experience. We would welcome the opportunity to have you back for another chance. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Choices, Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very pleased with the service and the food here. Some interesting choices ( Carribean Eggrolls, Drunken Lobster Bisque) Multiple choices, (3 types of Salmon) and everything we ordered was well prepared, presented, and tasty. Would recommend to everyone. Little too much noise from the bar area right behind our seats.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JMD1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadfishGrill, Manager at Madfish Grill, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback! Glad you enjoyed dining with us. Sorry about the noise level at the bar....it gets a little crazy in that area from time to time! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food ”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Been here several times and food is great. Downside- website stayed happy hour goes until 6pm. We got there at 5:35pm. Change website or honor happy hour to those who ask about it from website.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadfishGrill, Manager at Madfish Grill, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you love the food! Our apologies for the misunderstanding on the happy hour promotions as we off offer a few different options... Our "bar only happy hour" is served from 4-6PM in the bar only with $5 food and drink options. We also offer our regular happy hour with reduced price beer, wine and liquor options which are available in the whole restaurant from 11AM (noon on Sunday) until 7PM. $2.50 select draft beers, $3 House wines and $3.50 House cocktails. We you you will give it another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“some very good new england style choices”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

madfish always seemed like an old people's place to me with early bird specials and the like but let me tell you the menu is very good portions are decent and flavor incredible I really enjoy the new england fried clam dinner and harpoon draft beer..the fish is always cooked right and the email club gives you back deals for stopping in

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dasoverkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadfishGrill, Owner at Madfish Grill, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We work very hard to appeal to a broad market and always strive for the best quality and selections. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madfish Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Madfish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing