We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gastronomical delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selva Grill

Selva Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Selva Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 992 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Main St. & Palm Ave.
annarbortraveler55
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gastronomical delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It turns out we saved the best for last: a night at the opera, but before, dinner at Selva Grill. Our server, Sean, described the specials with such mouth-watering detail that we knew we had to try them.

Appetizers: butternut-squash with lump crab, and crab ceviche on blue tortilla chips - both outstanding. Dinners: we both selected a salmon dish, and neither of us wanted to share. That's always a great sign! If the special is salmon topped with lump crab, on mashed plantain, don't hesitate, it's superb! We were too full for dessert, but they looked scrumptious as well.

I'm a sucker for vertical food presentation, - when your meal looks like art, it feels as if someone really took the time to prepare this dish! Delicious tastes and visual delight are in plenty supply at Selva Grill!

Our server was wonderful - there when you wanted him, but not imposing, enough personality to make you feel like you mattered.

I was surprised at how big the place was - and given that, it's equally amazing how well timed everything was. Our food arrived fast, it was hot, - Selva is a well run restaurant- hats off to the management.

I wouldn't call the atmosphere romantic (thought the meals themselves would be an excellent fit in a smaller, more cozy setting) - but it was very festive.

My only complaint: the music! Really? Some rock and roll kind of music. Yuck - so out of synch with the clientele.. There was an almost exclusive opera crowd in attendance. The average age was no doubt above 65! Change the music to some nice jazz!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank annarbortraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    134
    40
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good contemporary style grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Server was aloof, disinterested, however food was fresh and tasty. Seafood is the best choice here however we enjoyed a delicious option of roasted chicken with fIngerling potatoes and rosemary demi glacé. Appetizer of sweet pea risotto leaned toward a southwestern flair including cilantro... more spicy rather than the expected creaminess... Fine, not spectacular. I had sea bass and although I ordered the Chilean sea bass special they mistakenly delIvered their regular dish... Very good flavor, accompanied by a formed polenta cakelet and sautéed leeks. One appetizer, 2 glasses of Brut Champagne, 2 entrees, total $100 plus tip. Overall good, not notably outstanding .

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“mmmmm good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wow - the food here was amazing. From the crab cakes starter to the steak main - simply an explosion of taste! The place was loud - hard to carry on a conversation and the painting on the one wall made me dizzy - but all in all - well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doghouse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best seafood ever, and great service too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

With one small exception, everything we had was completely perfect. Just get the specials and whatever the waiter suggests for dessert. This was truly exceptional in every way, not sure if we have ever had a better meal!

Helpful?
Thank Herb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It is near the opera & our friend saw the ad in the program.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I ordered the special appetizer & entree...they were just as the waiter said, delicious. We had good service. We told them we had opera tickets & we were out in plenty of time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selva Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Selva Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing