We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's the story??” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeMarco's - CLOSED

DeMarco's
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
“What's the story??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I went with friends to the restaurant on 09/10/13 to find that the door was locked and there was no sign stating the reason for closing. Is it being redecorated???? There were no tables as we looked in the windows. The ads continue to be printed in the newspaper. It was very disappointing since our previous experiences at DeMarco's have been so positive. Please notify your patrons!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    56
    13
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“First Time Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a very cozy restaurant. The food was good, especially loved the soup. Can't recall the name but it was not Lentil. I think what made this a great experience for me was the Waitress, JO. She was so warm and welcoming. The prices were fantastic especially considering all the food you get. Warm bread for the table, soup, salad and your entree. This is not a chain type of restaurant so if your into a lot of chatter and noise / commotion, this is not your place. I could see a nice romantic dinner here. I will definitely go back !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
260 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“In decline”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We visit Sarasota once per year and discovered this small place several years ago and it has been a must stop; until now. At 7:30pm there were only two tables occupied. We immediately noticed that interior was warm, turning up the temperature to cut the light bill? Lentil soup was not blended, big hunks of carrot in it. Salad was basic tossed salad but well made. Entrees were not memorable, close to bland; sides were angle hair with oil and garlic, had numerous chunks of garlic that overpowered the dish. Wine list has been reduced and included numerous grocery store wines retailing at $ 4.99 and sold there for 5 times retail. Local newspaper is running an ad offering 20% discount on all entrees. I doubt we'll return next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank babbydaddy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Awesome Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hungry for Italian food and not wanting to deal with the crowds at nearby chain restaurants, we decided to drive to DeMarcos on Clark. We have eaten here before and have always had a great experience. It is a charming little space with excellent food and superb wait staff. Jo took care of us this time and she was wonderful, making suggestions and taking care of all our needs. I had the shrimp scampi and my husband had a veal and shrimp dish....both delicious. The portions are generous, prices reasonable and certain wines are half price by the bottle. You can't beat that! We would definitely eat here more often if it was in the neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner with friends here and had excellent service by our waitress Jo. The food was great too. Will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank denisecatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeMarco's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing