We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre and overpriced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Colonne Restaurant

Le Colonne Restaurant
Ranked #189 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Three of us had a light lunch there. Seafood salad. While it was decent tasting, at over $14.00, medium sized shrimp and just not much seafood - nice enough dressing on it. Not wanting to add a negative feeling, I still felt compelled to quietly mention that the rolls were stale - I indicated waiter didn't have to bring another (but thought he should take initiative to go find fresher ones) - but he just acted like I was a cranky customer. He was not forthcoming - we each ordered a glass of wine; he brought bottle - and it was almost gone - he didn't suggest just buying a bottle. Anyway, a small mediocre salad, a good glass of wine, tip added on by restaurant - and it was a $37.00 lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeliene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    84
    41
    34
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great veal, coffee, and wine list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Came on a Monday in February. It was right after the Lido Key sunset, so it was busy and the service was a little slow. But the food was wonderful including the 2 veal dishes we ordered. The wine list includes lots of excellent Italian wines by the glass. And the espresso is Lavazza! What more could you ask?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank capitanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very, very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Found La Colonne by accident, in time for a late lunch. Nice outdoor dining, and our waiter took great effort to adjust the overhead umbrellas to give us the best shade on a sunny day. My wife had the white bean and tuna salad, and when she expressed surprise that there was no greenery in the salad, the waiter promptly, and at no charge, brought her a small plate of baby greens in house dressing. I had a cold seafood salad that was filled with very fresh seafood (shrimp, scallops, mussels, crab) and very ice-cold, crisp greens. Not terribly expensive, considering the location on St. Armands Circle, and well worth it. I'd go again anytime.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Food good, service ok!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I ordered the Chicken Parm. It was nice because they four it instead of breading and deep frying. Service was ok, long wait for food to come. Salad was nice. Nice atmosphere, pretty restaurant. Not pricey, but not cheap either.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhilaMomma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close your eyes and you are in Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We ate at Le Colonne by chance a year ago on our annual visit to St. Armands Circle, but this year we were determined to eat there again. The food is delicious; homemade pasta, perfectly seasoned entrees, good wine, a bottle of sparkling water - and there you are! A true slice of Italy, right down to the outside tables, dining al fresco as one does in so many cities in Italy. Mangia! Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank EvelynMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Colonne Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Le Colonne Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing