We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and delicious”

Le Colonne Restaurant
Ranked #147 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Longboat Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I were treated to an anniversary dinner at a lovely Italian restaurant by our friends and neighbors from Chicago. We were greeted at the front door with a strolling violinist who really set the mood. With soft lighting inside, it's a great place for a romantic meal. Our waitress, Giuliana, was a beautiful dark-haired Italian who spoke to us in a mixture of Italian and English (Italiash?) and made some nice recommendations. I followed her suggestion of pan-seared Grouper Matolatta flown in earlier today and nestled on a bed of buttery asparagus, sweet scallions, rocambole garlic, and tender, chanterelle mushrooms. I also had a side of their mouth-watering pasta which is made daily from scratch at the restaurant and is the best I've ever tasted. The service is exceptional and the food is Italian, authentic, and delicious with an abundance of hearty sauces. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheldonHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    89
    44
    34
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good, but a little over priced for this meal.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Our waitress was very professional. One of the owners was outside and loudly speaking to a friend. This detracted from our dinning experience. The sauce was homemade. The lasagna was very good. Portions were not very big, but enough for most. This was our most expensive meal in St. Armonds $100 for the three of us including tip. There are many restaurant in the area to choose and you might look elsewhere for a better value.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsmith105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slow, food not hot.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Waited over an hour for our food. Veal chops not cooked to order. Pollo parmigiania came to the table Luke warm. Waitress nice, but apologetic. Over priced for the service and quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited on January 15th. We walked around the circle looking for a place to eat and happened upon Le Colonne. We chose to sit outside on the sidewalk, and we were promptly greeted and waited upon. We ordered the homemade ravioli special and it was fabulous. Bruna waited on us and provided outstanding service. Next time we're in town, we'll definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FuninthesunOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very good Italian!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having grown up in an Italian family where Nonna and Zia made everything homemade this very good! The Lobster Ravioli was great! The only annoying person was the sommelier! We had already ordered our wine when he approached us and tried to change our minds! I don't mind the recommendations but he would not let it go!
Definitely worth the visit, nice atmosphere, good food and great friends!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank italian4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Colonne Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Le Colonne Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing