We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really a 10 star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rico's Pizzeria

Rico's Pizzeria
Ranked #469 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Benton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really a 10 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

we ordered delivery to our hotel.. best pizza ever, garlic knots are to die for and a salad to match. delivery was fast, the prices should be higher :) considering the amount of food you get. pizza was fold in half huge and this place really deserves a 10 star.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Found Rico's as we arrived at Sarasota Airport and needed dinner before checking in to our hotel for the night. Used our "near me" app to find for at 930 pm. Rico's fit our needs and expectations which were for reasonably priced, good food and drinks.

The pizza was amazing. I think their tag line is something like best pizza south of New Jersey, and it was really good! We ordered a Caesar salad right before closing time and it arrived fresh made. The only complaint we might have is the beers on tap were limited to three and they weren't anything special. Otherwise, no real complaints.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravellerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
219 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“For us an"authentic" experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We came in here because the next door cafe, which had been recommended, was closed. We were on foot so had limited choice on where else we could eat.

We did not regret it. To us (English couple) it seemed to be what we think of as an authentic American eatery. Nothing fancy but full of atmosphere. The pizza was served promptly and tasted fine. we have paid a lot more for much poorer fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Noy my thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I think this type of pizza is appealing to East Coasters... super thin crust, bland sauce and ingredients. My East Coast friends love it. I thought is was boring and tasteless. Then again, I am originally a Chicago girl!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank brennanlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The food at this place is outstanding! It's a good value for huge portions. This place definitely surprised me. It's kinda rough on the inside (like and old bar), but whatnot lacks in interior design it makes up for in flavor! The service was great too. They treat you like you've been eating there for decades!! Love

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzledazzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rico's Pizzeria also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rico's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing