We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Brunch was Excellent!”
Review of Michael's On East

Michael's On East
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's On East is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bahia Vista
Description: Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael's On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and received their 26th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award in 2015 - one of only two restaurants in Florida with this distinction. Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired decor. The restaurant's intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Easter Brunch was Excellent!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Wow, what a great Easter brunch. Besides the mouthwatering crab cakes, and chicken, and oysters, and eggs Benedict, and mahi, and mo lets and pancakes, there was also carved ham and flank steak, salmon, ahi, and salads.. And Desserts!!!! There were so many wonderful things on their buffet, that it is hard to pick out a favorite! The service is impeccable, the food was all very good. The only thing I missed this buffet was the beef tenderloin. The flank steak was ok, however I just happened to get one that had a lot of gristle in it, so was unable to cut it with my knife. Went back for some more, and the next time, did get some that was better. The salmon and ahi were both wonderful. But the desserts were what made the buffet. Oh did they ever! The peanut butter chiffon shot glasses were over the top! The chocolate/walnut/coconut cluster out of this world! Too many desserts to comment on them all! Give your dessert team a raise! Ohhh, I will definitely look forward to another buffet at Michaels! IMHO, we would have spent the same amount for a dinner with only 2 entrees to try...this way we tried multiples!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank over50andlovingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    98
    42
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Top notch restaurant!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Michaels' offers a consistently excellent dining experience, with a wonderful staff that makes the meal an all around top notch time there. The lobster rolls are great, and there is a wide variety of offerings that are all done very very well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and reliable standby on Tamiami Trail”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Truly a class act. Interesting menu, knowledgable service, broad wine list by the glass and by the bottle. Every dish a winner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank IntlTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely meal with friends last night. They are regulars and raved about it, saying it was the best restaurant in Sarasota.

The service was excellent, as you would expect. We enjoyed the nice wine list, both by the glass and bottle. If you can avoid the excellent bread selections they bring, you are a strong person. The thin, crispy, melt in your mouth wafers were fantastic. I split a seasonal salad that was light and delicious. The pan seared sea bass with risotto was the best I have had in a long time. The steaks also received rave reviews from our group.

We will definitely dine here again when in Sarasota.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Epicurean Dinner”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Every month Michael's offers a special Epicurean Dinner that focuses on a Country. This month was Greece. It is a great value for the cost. Included is your choice of two appetizer's, Three Entree's, and two desserts. We went with one other couple and we can not say enough praise for our server Kimberly L. She carefully explained each item on the special menu, gave us time to decide, and immediately brought us the "wine Pairing" which is a choice of red or white for only $5. I had Lamb Bolognese on Linguine and it was delicious. The portion was large and was served in a very warm bowl. My wife had a very light Paco fish that was under seasoned, but nice. The appetizer, that three of us really enjoyed, was "house made" wild Boar sausage over some white beans and a light sauce. It was wonderful and could have been served as a main entrée. Kimberly checked back with us several times to be sure everything was satisfactory and brought more of their delicious bread. This restaurant does not try to rush you out the door. They give you as much time as you want between servings. We have been to the Epicurean Dinner four times and plan to return again next month. It is especially nice when Michael comes by to say hi. Thanks again Kimberly for a wonderful dinner and we look forward to seeing you again next month.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's On East also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Michael's On East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing