We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh yeah ... this is STILL one fine restaurant”
Review of Michael's On East

Michael's On East
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's On East is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,045 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bahia Vista
Description: Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael's On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and received their 26th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award in 2015 - one of only two restaurants in Florida with this distinction. Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired decor. The restaurant's intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.
Cornelius, NC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oh yeah ... this is STILL one fine restaurant”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Forget that it's in a mall (although the entrance is in back, "on East" - that's their Wine Cellar with the mall entry). This must be the best restaurant in town. Food is more or less traditional at its core, but always with an inventive gourmet twist. You won't go wrong with the duck (if you love duck, as I do), or a top of the line steak (ALWAYS get bone-in ribeye, please!) ... or if you prefer fish, the Chilean sea bass is excellent. Oh lord, just throw a dart at the menu - it's ALL good. And yes it's not cheap ... but it's worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoelKrugler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    99
    44
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ambience”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just checked out Michael's on East last night, wonderful place. Right from the start, the valet attendent was very out going, the bar was very welcoming complete with a great piano player/singer, the decor throughout this small restaurant was beautiful and the staff were all very knowledgeable. Our meals were all great in both appearance and taste. A bit pricey but I don't mind paying if it is worth it, and this was. I would certainly recommend, and will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lllllll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Excellent but needs tweaking!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been talking about going to Michaels's for years but somehow never quite made it. We had an "occasion" - the 20th anniversary of my retirement - so we decided to celebrate at Michael's on East. We requested a table for two by the window. We were on time and so was our table. The atmosphere is subdued although a bit noisy (from the very active bar). The clientele is classy, most men wore jackets, the service was excellent (Shannon). Excellent wine list and reasonably priced. I had an appetizer portion of Michaels Bowtie Pasta and Angela had Michaels Special Seasonal Salad. The pasta was the best I have ever had outside of Italy and Angela loved her salad. For dinner I had the Rack of Lamb (More about that later) and Angela loved her Pompano Casparian. Skipped desert but enjoyed expressos. My only complaint was that the Mint and Tomato Chutney accompanying the lamb (excellent) was VERY sweet and did not go well with the rack. Needs attention. Overall a great dining experience. Three Gardner Stars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardner34285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Elegant”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A fabulous meal!! Started with Black Pepper-Crusted Beef Carpaccio, then Roasted Bone-In Kurobuta Pork Chop. Perfectly prepared. Served with a helpful smile. A great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrightway4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“This is among the best restaurants around in Sarasota.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This is among the best restaurants around in Sarasota. Located on east street behind the shopping center. The food is very good and the atmosphere is nice. There is a sit around bar table that is in fact a piano and a person playing music. Oh and the crab cakes are very good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's On East also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Michael's On East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing