We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday dinner at Michael's On East”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Michael's On East

Michael's On East
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael's On East is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,029 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bahia Vista
Description: Founded on April 27, 1987, the celebrated Michael's On East restaurant takes fine dining to another level, offering award-winning cuisine and outstanding service, in an exceptional 1940s supper club atmosphere. Michael's On East was one of only ten restaurants in the nation to be inducted into the 2009 Nation's Restaurant News Fine Dining Hall of Fame, considered the Oscars of the restaurant industry, and received their 26th consecutive AAA Four-Diamond Award in 2015 - one of only two restaurants in Florida with this distinction. Upon entering the dining room, you are immediately dazzled by the plush design and inspired decor. The restaurant's intimate aura, along with its contemporary fare, world-class wine cellar and incomparable service, create an unparalleled dining experience that will give you every reason to keep coming back.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner at Michael's On East”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our party of 5 enjoyed a special birthday dinner at Michael's On East during the last week of January 2013. The service, atmosphere and food were all very good. Our waitress Anne took excellent care of us from cocktails through dessert. I can only comment on my dinner; my appetizer was the Portuguese Baked Oysters I tried to share but no takers they missed out on these delicious bivalves, my dinner was the Pan-Seared Chilean Sea Bass cooked perfectly wonderful Lobster Beurre Blanc sauce added a nice touch. Go to Michael’s On East for a special night out.2

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dash4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    95
    41
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Sarasota dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and evening at Michael's on East with another couple last week. We are from Rhode Island, so are used to very good food, and have all traveled around the world. This was one of the best dining experiences we have enjoyed in quite some time. The ambiance works well. The wine list..on iPad..is extensive, including many fine wines and a good selection of reasonably priced choices. The food was excellent. But the best part of the evening was our waitress..a 22 year old professional. After describing many of the Italian reds, we asked "Do you know them all?" Her answer..."I know quite a bit about 2000 Italian wines...and Michael is now teaching me the French reds." We do not know enough to call her on it, but her professionalism in all parts of the evening convinced us: Michael and his team know how to hire! We moved from a delicious dinner to after dinner drinks at the piano bar with Joe Micals playing and singing old favorites with a convivial group. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ciaopositano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“THE Place For That Special Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

When it's time to put on that special dress and a sport coat the destination should be Michael's On East. The valet parking sets the tone folllowed by an elegant, contemporary, touch of art deco dining room. Our waiter was well trained and very helpful explaining the various dishes and wines. The appitizers were perfection and well presented. I choose the Greek special of the month and was not disappointed. My daughter had the Ahi tuna and declared it the BEST EVER (and she has had a lot of tuna). My wife ordered the pork chop and I admit to being skeptical; however, when the double chop arrived with a fabulous grilled appearance, savory sauce and carmalized sweet potatoes, I wish we could have traded dinners. Deserts were great and more than we could handle. You will really enjoy the entire dining experience but be sure to bring your check book as perfection does not come cheap.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Earned its reputation ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Wonderful food, wonderful service, wonderful admosphere. Every dish was delicious and beautifully presented. Pricey, but great choice for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMEPLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“String Beans were from last week?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Maybe we hit a bad day....service was good but the string beans were difficult to cut, let alone swallow. There should be more quality control here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1joanne-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's On East also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Michael's On East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing