We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers as they are meant to be!”

Hob Nob Drive In Restaurant
Ranked #169 of 1,046 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Burgers as they are meant to be!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Across the street from a chain burger store with an empty parking lot...see where this is going? The Hob Nob is a burger joint in the best sense of the word. These burgers rock. On your way to or from golf, or the beach...a throwback to the old days of roadside food. Worth a trip.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KYSimpleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    52
    26
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Go back in time!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stopped by for supper on a Tuesday evening, our family of six. It was earlier, around 5:15pm and the place was not crowded, so the server paid lots of attention to us. The seating is under a canopy, but still in the open air, so if the weather is poor then you will be part of it! The facility is older - probably much like it was when new, 50 or so years ago!

We sat down and the server came and took our order, rather than having to order from standing in a line. She was very attentive to our needs, helped us with ordering from the children's menu, and even gave input on what to order that would be a bit cheaper and the same amount of food for the kids.

The food came in about 15 minutes. All the while, the server was topping up our drinks, asking us if we were doing fine, and calling our children cute names like "Sweetie." We loved it! The portions were good size, and the food was fresh. Onion rings were great! Fries maybe cut a bit too big for my liking, but still good.

It is a bit pricey - you can go to any other fast food place and spend about 35% less. Our bill came to about $50 and we probably could have fed everyone at McDonalds for about $34. But it is nice to visit an historic landmark and go back in time, at least for a bit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdwardTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The 1950's come alive”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is the old road food that some of us are old enough to remember. Before fast food took over, people were more adventurous and enjoyed trying food in the various places they visited. This roaside attraction brings alive the era of American Graffitti and Happy Days. Great fun for the whole family.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, NC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NO. Don't go!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Decided to go to this spot for lunch after seeing it advertised in a tourist book. Ended up in what we considered a bad area of the city on a very loud and busy street. Felt unsafe and uneasy the whole time we were there. Food was not good, just greasy and burger was not special. I am frankly shocked by the good reviews I am seeing posted here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
750 reviews
571 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Good dog, Bad bun”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Had high hopes for a typical, old time drive in. One of us had the burger which was juicy and good. The fries are very hot, but nothing special.
The hot dog was very good but sadly, the bun felt and tasted like it just came from the fridge. Buttered and grilled would have been so much better.
The service was friendly and speedy, but we probbly wouldn't return.

Helpful?
Thank travchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hob Nob Drive In Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hob Nob Drive In Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing