We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French without Tears..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Affair Restaurant - CLOSED

French Affair Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“French without Tears..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Sarasota likes to think of itself as a Gastronomic Mecca..with fresh fish and fine dining restaurants on every inlet..Bay and corner ..Unfortunately for those of us who live here and indeed those who visit ..this is far from the truth..the fish is frozen and it is only when the Tab is produced that one fleetingly imagines that what was placed in front of you was dining at its best..

But as in any desert there is an Oasis. and the French Affair is one such in Sarasota..the fish is fresh..the soup is made out of real ingredients..I have dined on Duck and Bouillabaisse in the last couple of times I have been there ..and there were excellent..My wife is addicted to Scallops. and declared those she ate there ..the best she had tasted in many a long age..

Try it you wont be disappointed..but to be forewarned.. I think it fair value..but that doesn't mean cheap..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avalonsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The BEST French food in Sarasota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

While this restaurant doesn't look like much, the cooking is authentic French bistro style, with a fine selection of wines. Over the years our family has eaten and enjoyed just about everything on the menu, and we always receive a personal welcome from Chef Alain, who is also the owner. He has given us tastes of the mangoes he grows in this own back yard, treating us like members of an extended family.

My mother, who Is French, can be hard to please when it comes to food, but she always enjoys his fare. In fact now that she is less mobile, they often call and order from the menu online, then swing by 30 minutes later and pick up the food to enjoy at home.

This restaurant is a big family favorite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aldo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In its senescence”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We revisited this restaurant for the first time in 15 years. Used to be great. First tip off: Not many people. Grandson of original hostess pleasant and accommodating. Onion soup...vaguely like vinegar. Small tossed salad OK, signature mustard dressing not interesting. Both Magret and pork tenderloin cooked to death.

After we had left the restaurant, the waiter came out after us and directed us to their website, which apparently offers 15% off coupons.

There are too many other good French restaurants in Sarasota to waste time on this one. We won't be using one of those coupons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
1 review
“Intimate Dining.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great personal service from the French owner, authentic french cuisene,
Great wine selection.Love the freedom to browse there selection.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went with friends who recommended this unassuming small restaurant and were we ever glad we did. One of the most eclectic and innovative menues ever. Sandy had escargots and then frogs legs provencale; I had pate forestier and then skate with lemon capers. Yes, New England Skate! I am a Cape Cod fisherman but never ate a skate. The chef personally guaranteed the dish and also helped pick out a dry white macon wine to go with the frogs legs and skate. All dishes were excellent and service was good. A real slice of France! But please don't tell anyone about this gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oysters11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Affair Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing